Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Web Design & Development Web Design & Development
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

how to make a private web page?

(!)

Senior Member with 1,275 posts.

12-Aug-2007, 12:19 PM #1
how to make a private web page?
ok, im a noob at this so i hope this makes sense:

i want to make a private web page on my pc that a friend can log on to and view video, picture, and audio files on my pc from it.

i use a program called yawcam for my webcam; with it i can create a private web page
where i can limit who logs on to it. The page is on my pc, i give them my ip and port number that yawcam opens and they logon--
sorry this is where i get fuzzy: how can i make a page where i give them my ip / port numbers and they can go there and either view content i put on the page and/or possibly use that page to browse the files on my pc?

hope that makes some sense...
Member with 33 posts.

12-Aug-2007, 07:45 PM #2
First you will need to install a web server. Then you will need to apply a password and username. Then you will need to forward/open the appropriate port so your friend can get through.

1) Install a web server. I recommend using AppServ. It's a package installer for Windows that includes Apache, MySQL, and PHP. This way, if you later want to tinker with MySQL or PHP, you will have them already installed and ready for use.

I created a guide a while back (it's probably not totally up to date)
http://appserv.minihost.org/appserv.html
The latest version of AppServ is currently 2.5.9, but the guide uses 2.5.7 I think.
http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/a...9.exe?download

2) Next you will want to secure your WWW directory.
Open dos prompt (start > run > command) or nt console (start > run > cmd).
Navigate to the apache bin directory (C:\apache\bin).
Run "htpasswd -c -b c:\appserv\www\.htpasswd yourusername yourpassword".