Live Chat & Podcast at 1:00PM Eastern on Sunday!
There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
JoinTour
Login
Search
Web Design & Development
Tag Cloud
access acer asus batch bios bsod crash desktop driver drivers error ethernet excel freeze gaming gpu hard drive hardware hdmi internet laptop malware memory modem monitor motherboard netgear network printer problem ram registry router slow software sound trojan ubuntu 11.10 uninstall usb video virus vista wifi windows windows 7 windows 7 32 bit windows 7 64 bit windows xp wireless
Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy Forums > Internet & Networking > Web Design & Development >
Solved: URGENT!! Need Advice ASAP!

Reply  
Thread Tools
finwood's Avatar
Member with 289 posts.
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: On Grand Lake in Oklahoma
Experience: Tenacious, I'll work til
13-Mar-2010, 05:19 PM #1
Solved: URGENT!! Need Advice ASAP!
I have a simple web site that I created using Front Page. In the last few days I have had
some suspicious entries in my Stat Counter Log. There have been 3 from China. I have gone to the sites and they are all about teaching people how to spam, create mini sites, etc. One of the sites was blackhatbootcamp.com/blog. I have included the entries as attachments. On the page source of my 5 of the index pages of my site ....grandlake4rent-sale.com there is a suspicious java script that doesn't belong there. The script is not on the pages of my site file. I know nothing about how this stuff works, but I figured some of you do. How can I fix my site? Can I just copy over the index pages with the ones in my site file? Shouldn't this be reported to some one?
Attached Thumbnails
Solved: URGENT!!  Need Advice ASAP!-stat-log-3-9-10.jpeg   Solved: URGENT!!  Need Advice ASAP!-stat-log-3-10-10.jpeg   Solved: URGENT!!  Need Advice ASAP!-stat-log-3-11-10.jpeg   Solved: URGENT!!  Need Advice ASAP!-java-script.jpg  
Eriksrocks's Avatar
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 2,198 posts.
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Minnesota
Experience: Advanced
13-Mar-2010, 05:30 PM #2
What's wrong with China? Even though the referrers were questionable sites it doesn't necessarily mean anything is wrong. Go to the specific referrer page and check for the link to your website to find out specifically why your site is linked.

And the JavaScript is from FrontPage, so nothing to worry about assuming you want it there.

Also, this should be in Web Development.
__________________
Erik - erikswan.net - Bluehost Hosting!
finwood's Avatar
Member with 289 posts.
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: On Grand Lake in Oklahoma
Experience: Tenacious, I'll work til
13-Mar-2010, 06:23 PM #3
I did not put the script on the page. I do not want it there, so do I just make some sort of change to the page and then upload it? And you obviously did not go to the sites if you think they are just questionable.
Eriksrocks's Avatar
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 2,198 posts.
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Minnesota
Experience: Advanced
14-Mar-2010, 04:04 PM #4
I just went there and your site is fine. As I mentioned before, the script was generated by FrontPage. It's what makes the rollover menu items work. You can remove it if you want to, but then the menu items won't change color when you rollover them.

I looked at the rest of the source of your page and it's fine. There is no malicious code on your site.
__________________
Erik - erikswan.net - Bluehost Hosting!
finwood's Avatar
Member with 289 posts.
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: On Grand Lake in Oklahoma
Experience: Tenacious, I'll work til
14-Mar-2010, 06:32 PM #5
Eriksrocks,

Thanks, I guess I'm just paranoid. I did go in, made some changes to the 5 pages, and then uploaded to my web site. The code does not show up on the html of the page on my computer. It shows up only when I view it in a browser. Is this the way it is supposed to be?
Eriksrocks's Avatar
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 2,198 posts.
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Minnesota
Experience: Advanced
14-Mar-2010, 07:26 PM #6
This could be a function of what are called "FrontPage Extensions". They could be adding the code to your pages server-side. I don't know, I've never really worked with those. Or the code could really be on your computer, but FrontPage is just hiding it from you on purpose. Try opening the local HTML files in a program other than FrontPage (like Notepad).
__________________
Erik - erikswan.net - Bluehost Hosting!
finwood's Avatar
Member with 289 posts.
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: On Grand Lake in Oklahoma
Experience: Tenacious, I'll work til
14-Mar-2010, 08:17 PM #7
I don't use Frontpage Extentions. That Javascript has never been on my local pages. I use Aceftp 3 to upload any changes that I make. Last Wednesday (10th) I added an ad to my misc.index page. I go by the date, went in and uploaded the changes that I had made. There was a file that indicated that it had been changed. (I thought it was odd, but didn't pay any attention and I went ahead and uploaded it. Yesterday, trying to get rid of the Script, I made minor changes to each of the five pages that have the script on them. I noticed when I uploaded that those 5 pages had been updated on the 10th. I didn't make changes to any of the others but the misc.index file. So, I updated all five of those pages on the 13th. The script still shows up. I have read about the people that can take over computers and make zombies of them that spew out spam. This morning I got a spam e-mail forwarded by a contact in my address book. I Googled ........... 958c35.nssolutionszone.com . One of the sites was talking about selling domain names and then using them to promote your own business. I don't know if this has anything to do with anything. But, I do know that the script was not on my page source before. I just put a hyperlink on the button. I don't care if it lights up or not.... just so that it goes to the page. Thanks for looking into it..... Like I said Maybe I'm just paranoid.
Eriksrocks's Avatar
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 2,198 posts.
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Minnesota
Experience: Advanced
14-Mar-2010, 09:18 PM #8
It's hard to know exactly what's going on without looking at your files, but I think this is just a case of FrontPage adding some stuff and confusing you a bit. The script that we're talking about is a standard FrontPage script that is used for the menu buttons as I've mentioned before. It looks like you have used a template for your site and this is where the code came from. Again, it's standard FrontPage stuff. If you search for a line or function name of the code online, you'll find lots of other places where it can be found, all relating to FrontPage. (Note the acronym in the code - MSFP. It stands for Microsoft FrontPage).

If you think the code is being added by the server, then upload your version, wait a while, and download the file on the server. Compare the downloaded file with the local copy using a File Comparison tool like WinMerge.

Again, it's hard to know exactly where the code is coming from without knowing your complete setup or having access to your computer, but the code is safe and it's necessary for the template you are using. If you are concerned that FrontPage is adding code to your site behind the scenes, welcome to FrontPage. You might want to move to an editor that isn't 7 years old.
__________________
Erik - erikswan.net - Bluehost Hosting!
finwood's Avatar
Member with 289 posts.
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: On Grand Lake in Oklahoma
Experience: Tenacious, I'll work til
14-Mar-2010, 10:39 PM #9
OK... I guess everything will be alright. Thanks for your time and advice. As for the old Frontpage, I don't use the website enough to warrant the time and effort it would take to learn a new program. Maybe when I get a new computer I'll upgrade. The computer is as old as the Frontpage. I'm marking this solved.
Reply

THIS THREAD HAS EXPIRED.
Are you having the same problem? We have volunteers ready to answer your question, but first you'll have to join for free. Need help getting started? Check out our Welcome Guide.

Search Tech Support Guy

Find the solution to your
computer problem!




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
WELCOME TO TECH SUPPORT GUY! Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question -- for free! Our site is run completely by volunteers who want to help you solve your computer problems. See our Welcome Guide to get started.
Thread Tools



Facebook Facebook Twitter Twitter TechGuy.tv TechGuy.tv Mobile TSG Mobile
You Are Using:
Server ID
Advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:47 AM.
Copyright © 1996 - 2011 TechGuy, Inc. All rights reserved.

Powered by Cermak Technologies, Inc.