Live Chat & Podcast at 1:00PM Eastern on Sunday!
There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
JoinTour
Login
Search
Web Design & Development
Tag Cloud
access acer asus bios bsod crash desktop driver drivers error ethernet excel freeze games gaming hard drive hardware hdmi internet laptop malware memory missing monitor motherboard network printer problem ram random registry router slow software sound trojan ubuntu 11.10 uninstall usb video virus vista wifi windows windows 7 windows 7 32 bit windows 7 64 bit windows xp wireless xbox
Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy Forums > Internet & Networking > Web Design & Development >
Solved: a dumb question I'm sure

Reply  
Thread Tools
ms_khw's Avatar
Computer Specs
Senior Member with 967 posts.
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ontario Canada
Experience: Intermediate
01-Sep-2010, 12:36 AM #1
Solved: a dumb question I'm sure
I've been looking at different host providers and designers, and I'm curious. There is one host/designer that I keep coming across in google. Every site that they have designed displays the sites description as it should but also gives credit to who created it. How is it that the designer/host shows in google's description of the site?
__________________
"I think I've broken my computer! There's a message across the screen that says: 'It is now safe to turn off your PC.' WHAT SHOULD I DO?!?!"
colinsp's Avatar
Computer Specs
Senior Member with 1,044 posts.
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Spain
Experience: Adv PC, int HTML, bit PHP
01-Sep-2010, 02:16 AM #2
Go to one of their sites and view the source files of the site and look a how they have constructed the html that should tell you. Easiest way to do this is with FireFox and the webdevelopers toolbar. Or post a url and we can have a look for you.
ms_khw's Avatar
Computer Specs
Senior Member with 967 posts.
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ontario Canada
Experience: Intermediate
01-Sep-2010, 12:32 PM #3
Here is one of their sites: http://www.haliburtonstudiotour.on.ca/
tomdkat's Avatar
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 7,127 posts.
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: S.F. Bay Area, CA
Experience: Intermediate
01-Sep-2010, 06:28 PM #4
I'm not seeing what you're describing:

http://www.google.com/search?sourcei...udiotour.on.ca

Here is a sample page:

http://www.haliburtonstudiotour.on.ca/artist_x.htm

The page description on Google says:
Quote:
Lisa and Matt Mihlik Pottery. Lisa and Matt welcome you to see a variety of fine crafted pots and peek into their wood fired kiln. ...
That text was taken from the first paragraph on the page:
Quote:
Lisa and Matt welcome you to see a variety of fine crafted pots and peek into their wood fired kiln. New work this year includes many hand carved pieces, as well as some fantastic new glazes. Objects such as cups, bowls, teapots and serving dishes are always available. Their work speaks about utility, but also about being nourished.
What search criteria are you using that results in the web designer's credit appearing in the search results?

Peace...
ms_khw's Avatar
Computer Specs
Senior Member with 967 posts.
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ontario Canada
Experience: Intermediate
01-Sep-2010, 08:47 PM #5
I've found several like that on google. I have searched for a web designer. This has brought up designers as per my search, but also sites they have created. The listing for the site that they have created provides a description of that site and gives credit to the company/designer. I said it was a dumb question. But puzzled none the less.
__________________
"I think I've broken my computer! There's a message across the screen that says: 'It is now safe to turn off your PC.' WHAT SHOULD I DO?!?!"
tomdkat's Avatar
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 7,127 posts.
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: S.F. Bay Area, CA
Experience: Intermediate
01-Sep-2010, 08:58 PM #6
Well, without more specific info, we can't comment since we're not sure what you're specifically seeing.

I mean we get your description but without something "tangible" as a reference, we can't answer your "how do they do it" question.

So, what is the name of a web designer you searched for whose name appeared in the search results?

Peace...
ms_khw's Avatar
Computer Specs
Senior Member with 967 posts.
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ontario Canada
Experience: Intermediate
01-Sep-2010, 11:27 PM #7
I was looking for host providers, but drifted off and began looking at web designers in Ontario, preferably Haliburton area. I began my search simply as"web designers Ontario" Not only did I find a number of web designers, but also listings of their websites. Here are a few of the listings showing designer credit:
I'm beginning to feel more and more silly about my question.

The Haliburton Soap Factory Ltd. Crafted in Haliburton, Ontario, our products are 100% biodegradable, ... 2006 The Haliburton Soap Factory Ltd.. Web design by Country-Tyme Web Hosting & ...
www.haliburtonsoapfactory.com

Haliburton County Studio Tour - Haliburton Ontario Only member studios display the Haliburton County Studio Tour logo. ... Web design & hosting: Wolf Song Communications Brochure: Parker Pad & Printing Logo ...
www.haliburtonstudiotour.on.ca/

HCHA :: The Haliburton County Horsemen's Association A website for the members of the Haliburton County Horsemen's Association as well as their ... Website design & maintenance donated by Big Dog Web Design ...
www.hcha.ca/
tomdkat's Avatar
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 7,127 posts.
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: S.F. Bay Area, CA
Experience: Intermediate
02-Sep-2010, 01:08 AM #8
Perfect! Thanks for that info.

What you're seeing is something Google does. When it displays search results, it will display PARTS of the page text that actually match your search criteria as the description of the search result. This is evidenced by the ellipses (...) included in the descriptions you posted.

Taking this one as an example:

Quote:
Haliburton County Studio Tour - Haliburton Ontario
Only member studios display the Haliburton County Studio Tour logo. ... Web design & hosting: Wolf Song Communications Brochure: Parker Pad & Printing Logo ...
www.haliburtonstudiotour.on.ca/
We can take a closer look at this.

This part is the page title of the page returned in the search result:
Quote:
Haliburton County Studio Tour - Haliburton Ontario
This part is from the first sentence on the page:
Quote:
Only member studios display the Haliburton County Studio Tour logo.
Notice it has "Haliburton" in it.

This part is from the page footer of the page:
Quote:
Web design & hosting: Wolf Song Communications Brochure: Parker Pad & Printing Logo ...
Notice it has "Web design" in it. The part about the "Brochure" is simply on the same line as the "Web design & hosting" text.

This part is the web address of to the page:
If you click the "Cached" link for that result, you'll get a copy of the page from Google's cache with the keywords from your search criteria highlighted.

Peace...
ms_khw's Avatar
Computer Specs
Senior Member with 967 posts.
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ontario Canada
Experience: Intermediate
02-Sep-2010, 10:05 AM #9
Curiosity solved. Thanks everyone
Reply

THIS THREAD HAS EXPIRED.
Are you having the same problem? We have volunteers ready to answer your question, but first you'll have to join for free. Need help getting started? Check out our Welcome Guide.

Search Tech Support Guy

Find the solution to your
computer problem!




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
WELCOME TO TECH SUPPORT GUY! Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question -- for free! Our site is run completely by volunteers who want to help you solve your computer problems. See our Welcome Guide to get started.
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Title Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Solved: dumb question I'm sure ms_khw Web Design & Development 11 13-Mar-2010 10:33 PM
A few questions I'm sure will be considered noob Commando81 Hardware 5 30-Dec-2009 01:39 PM
Solved: a dumb question I'm sure ms_khw Web Design & Development 2 11-Aug-2009 07:14 PM
Solved: silly question I'm sure ms_khw Digital Photography & Imaging 2 13-Jan-2007 11:54 AM
[Solved] An easy question, I'm sure Nigelum Windows XP 4 17-Jan-2004 02:25 PM


Facebook Facebook Twitter Twitter TechGuy.tv TechGuy.tv Mobile TSG Mobile
You Are Using:
Server ID
Advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:19 AM.
Copyright © 1996 - 2011 TechGuy, Inc. All rights reserved.

Powered by Cermak Technologies, Inc.