Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Web & Email Web & Email
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Sending Outlook email from different locations with different ISPs

(!)

Computer Specs
Junior Member with 3 posts.

Experience: Beginner
03-Mar-2008, 04:26 PM #1
Sending Outlook email from different locations with different ISPs
I use the same laptop from my work location and my home location. (I am a small business owner, so I don't have an IT Dept to help!!!)
But I have different ISPs at home and at work.
So, when I go to send email from Outlook 2007, I have to change my outgoing mail server from one ISP to another.
Is there a way for me to setup different ISP outgoing mail servers so that I don't have to keep changing the settings in Tools, Account Settings???
Any help at all would be much appreciated.
BBH

PS. I have searched support.microsoft.com and as usual, they are of no help! :P
Computer Specs
Member with 2,068 posts.

Experience: Advanced
04-Mar-2008, 11:25 AM #2
Who are the ISP's. Are you running some kind of mail server locally at work? Typically you should not need to change this. The mail server name should resolve on the Internet no matter what ISP you happen to be connected to.
Junior Member with 12 posts.

Experience: Network Administrator
04-Mar-2008, 12:42 PM #3
who holds your email account, if you have not IT dept. you probably arn't running exchange (can see if you are by looking on the botton right i will say something like connected to exchange or disconnected) but with 2007 if you use, say verizon for your mail it should work with any connection, beware of ISPs that block port 25 (mail port) i think comcast and roadrunner do but a little googling will tell you who does this might help explain why you cant send from one place but can from another.
Junior Member with 1 posts.

06-Mar-2008, 08:50 AM #4