There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
JoinTour
Login
 
Tag Cloud
access audio avg avg 8 boot bsod computer cpu crash css dell desktop driver drivers dvd email error excel explorer firefox firefox 3 freeze gimp graphics hard drive hardware help please hijackthis hjt hjt log install internet internet explorer itunes javascript keyboard lan laptop log malware monitor network networking outlook outlook 2003 outlook express password php popups problem router seo slow sound sp3 spyware startup trojan usb video virtumonde virus vista vundo windows windows vista windows xp winxp wireless youtube
Web & Email
Search
Search in:
 
Advanced Search
Tech Support Guy Forums > Internet & Networking > Web & Email >
What is rc12.overture.com?


HELLO AND WELCOME! Before you can post your question, you'll have to register -- it's completely free! Click here to join today! We highly recommend that you print a copy of our Guide for New Members. Enjoy!

 
Thread Tools
tom.stevenson's Avatar
Senior Member with 173 posts.
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
12-May-2008, 08:49 AM #1
What is rc12.overture.com?
When I search the Internet for almost anything these days, I invariably get a number of results pointing me to a page at rc12.overture.com, but every time I try to access these pages, I just get a blank page. Initially this was just irritating, but I have since noticed my own copyright text in the summary of some rc12.overture.com pages. I've searched the Internet for clues about rc12.overture.com, but the response to every query I've come across is either clueless or wrong. Does anyone have any idea what this site is, and how to access its content? For an example, I give you the following rc12.overture.com link:
http://rc12.overture.com/d/sr/?xargs...h5QHb2tbTv8uDs.
tom.stevenson's Avatar
Senior Member with 173 posts.
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
23-May-2008, 03:11 PM #2
I cannot believe this has you guys stumped. Can anyone suggest another forum more likely to know the answer?
trinazbauer's Avatar
Junior Member with 1 posts.
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
25-Jun-2008, 05:33 PM #3
Talking I can help you!
Hi. I've been struggling with this problem for days. The folks at goodsearch.com sent me this message...

Hi Trina,

Thanks for your message. Everything is working fine on our end and we haven't had any similar reports. It sounds like the security software/firewall on your computer is blocking access to "overture.com." This is the domain that Yahoo uses to serve out its search results to its partners like GoodSearch. Please have your Network Administrator allow access to *overture* and it should work fine.

Thank you for your support!

- The GoodSearch Team


So this helped me determine that there was not some overture.com bug which I had been thinking. To remedy the problem, when you get sent to any overture.com blank page, go up to "tools" hit "internet options" go to trusted sights and add the first part of the web adress in (http://www.rc12.overture.com, for example) if your computer doesn't do it for you. Then it will work. Hope this helps. There are a few. I've come across rc10 too and had to add that. Peace and cheers. Trina
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

You Are Using:
Server ID
Advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:27 AM.
Copyright © 1996 - 2008 TechGuy, Inc. All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin, Copyright © 2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.1.0
Powered by Cermak Technologies, Inc.