Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Web & Email Web & Email
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Internet Slow - Bizarre Circumstance

(!)

Computer Specs
Junior Member with 2 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
15-Aug-2010, 11:20 AM #1
Internet Slow - Bizarre Circumstance
Hello All,

I am no computer expert - but I know enough to get me around. However I have encountered a problem over the past week, and quite frankly it is doing my head in!

I am having a problem with periodic slowdown of web pages opening. The speedtest on the computer I am having the issue on is fluctuating between 5mbs but on occasion dropping as low as 0.68mbs - ping is consistent at around 52. There is no problem with the other computers on the network which speed tests all come out between 5mbs and 4mbs - depending on the time of day - which is normal.

I can't work it out - here is what i have tried with the results.

I have reset the browsers (IE8 and chrome) back to original settings - no effect
I have disabled any unnecessary plug-ins - no effect
Tried to update wireless driver - no effect
Deleted and re-installed driver - no effect
I have re-started in safe mode - SUCCESS - normal operation - so now know its not hardware!
Tried system restore - no effect
Run antivirus - no infection - no effect
Run Malware Bytes - no malware - no effect
Run spybot - no spyware - no effect
Turned off antivirus and firewall - no effect
Tried all off windows trouble shooting - no effect

I am loathed to re-install windows - there must be a solution to this issue - i am hoping someone out there is able to assist me.

System Details:

Dell desktop inspiron 531
Windows 7 professional
4gb ram
AMD 64 processor
Browser - Chrome (primary) and IE8 (secondary)
Wireless connection - unable to hardwire due to PC location
Further details provided if required.