Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Windows 7 Windows 7
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

RPC server is unavailable on start-up

(!)

Computer Specs
Member with 3 posts.

Experience: Beginner
12-May-2012, 08:33 AM #1
RPC server is unavailable on start-up
I am a beginner and know very little so please take this into consideration.
I am using Windows 7.
When I start up my computer and type in my User name I get the message that RPC server is unavailable. I really dont have a clue what RPC is, why I'm suddenly getting this message when i have done nothing differently and how I go about sorting it. Can anyone help! Please!
Computer Specs
Moderator with 65,245 posts.

12-May-2012, 11:47 AM #2
Are you having any other problem (that may be caused by the "RPC server is unavailable")?

This is a new one for me, but let's check the following ...

Click on the Start Orb and type "Serv" (without the quotes). Click on Services at or near the top of the resulting search list. Find the RPC Endpoint Mapper (see attachment). If the Startup Type is not Automatic, double click on the entry and change it to Automatic. If the Startup Type is Automatic but the Status is not Started try to start it. If you get an error message tell us exactly what it says.
Attached Thumbnails
RPC server is unavailable on start-up-capture.jpg  
Computer Specs
Member with 3 posts.

12-May-2012, 12:50 PM #3
Terrynet, thank you for your reply. I maybe being dumb but I cant get passed the Sign in page to get to the start orb. Is there an alternative way of getting to it?