Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Windows 7 Windows 7
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Windows Bug? - Printer randomly sets self to LPT port

(!)

Computer Specs
Member with 12 posts.

Experience: Advanced
31-May-2012, 06:18 PM #1
Lightbulb Windows Bug? - Printer randomly sets self to LPT port
I am a PC tech and have been for 8 years now. One problem I have come across pretty frequently but have yet to figure out a cause for is printer issues related to the port selection. I have had numerous customers who randomly can't print. Upon looking at their computer, the printer port will be selected on "LPT1" instead of the proper USB or TCP/IP port. I have not been able to find any correlation. This happens on Windows XP, Windows Vista, and Windows 7 on both business and residential computers. Originally I had thought that customers must be attempting repairs on their own. However, after 8 years and seeing this same thing happen to people who are afraid to even attempt to fix their own issue I believe that there must be some bug in Windows that causes this printer port to change. Anyone have any ideas for this behavior or has anyone even seen this?

Also, the fix to this problem, of course, is to simply select the correct port and the problem is resolved. If there are any jobs in queue, they immediately will start to print indicating that there was most likely never a PC to Printer communication problem. Any information on this would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!
Lance1   (Lance) Lance1 is offline Lance1 has a Profile Picture
Computer Specs
Member with 5,223 posts.

31-May-2012, 07:46 PM #2
Well that is strange... I've dealt with people for 5 year and haven't had this issue come across. I've been dealing with windows for years, a lot more then 5, more like 13 and haven't had a printer randomly change from USB to LPT1. Lucky I guess. I'll see what I can find on this.