Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Windows 7 Windows 7
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

How hide files for other users

(!)

Computer Specs
Member with 372 posts.

31-May-2013, 01:48 AM #1
How hide files for other users
Is it possible to hide a folder from other users that aren't admins? I do not want it not to activate or be executed, I just don't want it to be possible to be shown on other users.

OR is it possible to just completely deny access to the C:/ Drive. I've tried messing with the security of the Crive but sine I'm an Admin AND User at the same time, anything that affects the users affects me as well.
Computer Specs
Moderator with 63,994 posts.

31-May-2013, 10:47 AM #2
Quote:
Is it possible to hide a folder from other users that aren't admins?
Right click on the folder and select the "Hidden" attribute. I haven't tested this, but pretty sure that non-administrator accounts cannot turn on 'Show hidden folders' and thus see it.
Computer Specs
Member with 5,255 posts.

31-May-2013, 04:34 PM #3
Hi Terry, non-admins CAN turn on show hidden files.
Computer Specs
Moderator with 63,994 posts.

31-May-2013, 04:38 PM #4
Quote:
Hi Terry, non-admins CAN turn on show hidden files.
Oh! Thanks.

And that will show even hidden files owned by another account? I've hardly ever had a second account on a machine, so I should probably keep quiet on these issues.
DaveBurnett   (Dave) DaveBurnett is offline DaveBurnett is a Trusted Advisor with special permissions. DaveBurnett has a Profile Picture
Computer Specs
Trusted Advisor with 8,901 posts.

Experience: Advanced
31-May-2013, 05:00 PM #5
If it is NTFS I believe you can password protect it
Computer Specs
Member with 2,888 posts.

Experience: Seasoned Professional
31-May-2013, 07:20 PM #6