Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Windows 7 Windows 7
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Print to file - access denied

(!)

Computer Specs
Junior Member with 9 posts.

Experience: Advanced
21-Mar-2010, 12:17 PM #1
Print to file - access denied
I've long had a large problem when using Vista and now Windows 7. I get access denied problems when creating, accessing or searching for files that I have access to or should have access to. It is wasting a large amount of time and creating many problems, and has for a long time. I searched this site and did not find anything to solve this problem, and have searched the internet periodically and never found a workable answer.

I'm using Windows 7 Home Premium. I'm an administrator on the computer.

As an example, I went to Yahoo.com and chose "File..Print" for a test. In the dialog box I clicked "Print to File". The next dialog box asked me to provide a file name which I gave as "C:\TestPrint.htm". I then received a message "Could not open the file. Access is denied." with the title bar saying "Local Port". I looked under the Properties-Security tab for the C drive and Administrators have full control. Why am I denied access and how do I solve it?

I also run into this access problem when searching for files on my computer. When I search in file mgr (Windows Explorer), it does not search folders where access is denied at first. As an example, I was searching for a database (mdf) file. The search did not find the file. So I thought for a while and stumbled around the file mgr and found it in deep under several sub-directories. When I clicked on the folder where the file was, a message said access was denied and to click on a button to gain access. So I clicked on the button and found the file finally.