Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Windows 7 Windows 7
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Solved: Can't access Documents & Settings Folder

(!)

Computer Specs
Member with 38 posts.

Experience: Advanced
29-Aug-2010, 06:27 PM #1
Solved: Can't access Documents & Settings Folder
I'm new to windows 7 and having a hard time navigating the file structure. When I try to open documents and settings, access is denied. Under libraries-documents there is a folder named My Videos.....access is denied to that one as well. How do I get access. I'm the only user and an administrator. Why can't I see what's in these folders? Thanks.
Phantom010 has a Photo Album
Computer Specs
Trusted Advisor with 31,676 posts.

29-Aug-2010, 06:38 PM #2
Computer Specs
Moderator with 63,945 posts.

29-Aug-2010, 07:19 PM #3
In Windows Vista and 7 Documents and Settings and other "legacy folders" are Junction points, included only so that older applications can find the equivalent Vista/7 folders.

As an example XP's C:\Documents and Settings is now C:\Users, but a whole lot of applications are going to be looking for Documents and Settings.
Computer Specs
Member with 38 posts.

31-Aug-2010, 02:34 AM #4
Thank you Phantom.....it worked like a charm. No more of those annoying 'can't access' messages.
Phantom010 has a Photo Album
Computer Specs
Trusted Advisor with 31,676 posts.

31-Aug-2010, 09:33 AM #5
You're welcome!
Computer Specs
Member with 38 posts.

31-Aug-2010, 01:16 PM #6
I spoke too soon. I thought I had taken ownership of my folders but when I tried to open My Videos, I was locked out. I did the ownership sequence again and I am the owner of the file but still no access. So I disabled UAC and got access only to find an empty folder. All of my mpgs and avi files are missing.
Can these files be restored? Are they hidden? I'm heartsick.
Computer Specs

31-Aug-2010, 02:48 PM #7