Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Windows Vista Windows Vista
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Colour Distortion followed by screen turning off

(!)

Computer Specs
Member with 9 posts.

Experience: I dont know anythng about computer parts.
28-May-2012, 11:18 AM #1
Colour Distortion followed by screen turning off
Hi. So earlier today I was downloading some codecs to play a video (K-lite codecs to play a .mkv video) which made the video work, then around 5 minutes into the video the sound went all crazy like a broken record and was like repeating a certain 2-3 seconds of sound constantly, and the video colours went all wierd. A BSOD then came up shortly after. For the last 3 hours I've been trying to sort it out but Im baffled as to what the problem is. I'm not too good with computers but have fixed a few things in my time.

Anyways, so I've tried start-up repair, and sometimes it says it cannot fix the problem, or sometimes it says its fixed and to restart. When I restart I can manage to get to the log-in screen. After logging in, everything loads up perfectly fine for 2 minutes, then all of a sudden the colours turn purple-ish and the display just goes blank, and I cant move the mouse or anything so I have to re-boot, which leads to start-up repair AGAIN and its just a continuous loop.

- I've done a few system restores, and manual system restores to dates further back, yet it doesn't change anything
- I'm writing this up in safe-mode with networking, where everything is working perfectly fine and the problem isn't occuring.

Any ideas? Thanks a lot!
Computer Specs
Member with 572 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
28-May-2012, 12:56 PM #2
Do you know what error message the BSOD displayed?