Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Windows Vista Windows Vista
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Solved: Loading Vista onto new Hard Drive

(!)

Computer Specs
Member with 3 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
03-Aug-2012, 05:24 PM #1
Solved: Loading Vista onto new Hard Drive
Hi all,

I'm a newbie here and would appreciate some advice with a slightly tricky setup problem:-

Here's what I know....

My HP Pavillion laptop has a confirmed MoBo problem and so the internal DVD drive doesn't function. So I have an external (2 x USB) DVD drive for movies, loading new software, etc. This has worked fine for the past couple of years or so.
I have a full retail version of Vista on DVD.
I know that Vista won't boot on an external DVD drive.
I have available an external USB 2.5 SATA HD enclosure.
[I have another fully-functioning Desktop PC running XP Pro which I can use, if necessary, for any data transfers....]

Here's what I'd like to know.....

I've got a new 2.5 SATA Hard Drive (because the old one died), and I need to put the Vista OS onto the new drive, so I get the HP laptop running again.
Can anyone give me some advice on how I can get a new Vista OS install onto the new HD???...
(I can either install the new HD directly into the Laptop, or put it in the external enclosure to make the data transfer).

Thanks very much in advance for any advice,

Steve
Computer Specs
Member with 5,252 posts.

04-Aug-2012, 04:13 PM #2
Well, if it is the laptop's internal SATA that died, I would put the new one inside the laptop,

You say Vista cant boot from your external USB DVD drive. Maybe you can try making a bootable USB stick. See below:

http://www.vistax64.com/tutorials/18...umb-drive.html
Computer Specs
Member with 3 posts.

05-Aug-2012, 05:28 PM #3
Thanks, I'll give it a try and let you know how I get on with a later Post...
Computer Specs
Member with 3 posts.