Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Windows Vista Windows Vista
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Can't open a CD of my XP Files on my Vista computer

(!)

Computer Specs
Member with 42 posts.

Experience: Beginner
20-Jun-2007, 11:35 AM #1
Can't open a CD of my XP Files on my Vista computer
I have a new computer with Vista. I have files from my old computer (from XP) on a CD, but I cannot open this CD on this new computer with Vista on it. I have tried and tried. The CD will work on a friends XP computer. Can somebody help me ? I am no expert, can just do normal things on a computer, but am having a hard time on Vista. Thanks for your help.
Computer Specs
Senior Member with 604 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
20-Jun-2007, 11:48 AM #2
What error are you getting when you open it?
Computer Specs
Member with 42 posts.

20-Jun-2007, 03:41 PM #3
I don't get any error messages. When I install the CD with my pictures and files, a window pops up called "AutoPlay" There is a green moving that bar that is "Searching for content". This bar doesn't stop, like it is endlessly searching for content.

There are "picture options" below, like Import Pictures, View Pictures, Copy pictures, and then there are General Options to open folder to view files., which is the one I want the most.

But when I click on all of these options, nothing happens.

Its like it cannot read the CD.

This is what it does, and it doesn't change.

It's a new computer. Thanks for advice.
Member with 22,468 posts.

20-Jun-2007, 07:35 PM #4
What if you just cancel out of AutoPlay and use the Windows Explorer to look at what is on the CD.
Computer Specs
Member with 42 posts.

21-Jun-2007, 05:02 PM #5
The windows explorer window is blank. but there are definite files on the CD. ??

21-Jun-2007, 05:09 PM #6