Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Windows Vista Windows Vista
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

cannot open internet browsers

(!)

Junior Member with 3 posts.

10-May-2010, 08:47 PM #1
cannot open internet browsers
hello - exasperated newbie here. This is a problem where my computer was fine yesterday but today won't work.

I cannot open internet browsers. If I click on the icon for Firefox or IE nothing happens. I have an internet connection, my internet options says I am connected to the internet and gives me an option to browse. Clicking the option brings the same results - nothing happens. Not even a window opens that tells me I have no connection. Nada.

By way of troubleshooting I uninstalled BitDefender - I've been running it for a couple of weeks and have had nothing but problems with it - so I figured this might be a cause. It didn't fix the problem, but as a feature of the uninstallation process it opened a window for a website (!) survey asking why I am unhappy with the product. Eureka I am on the web! I can surf and my connection is fine. (It opend in IE even though Firefox is my default). But the same problem persists - I cannot connect to the internet by clicking on an icon.

Googling the problem has brought up tons of connection issues but nothing that seems related to actually having a connection and just not being able to get to it.

Like stated earlier, everything worked fine yesterday. Please help if you can! Thanks!

gt
Computer Specs
Moderator with 65,781 posts.

10-May-2010, 09:17 PM #2
Right click on one of your browser shortcuts, select Properties, and see if it is still correct. For example, attached is a shortcut for IE (attachment is Windows 7, but Vista should be about the same).

Type iexplore.exe into a Run box to see if you can launch IE that way.
Attached Thumbnails
cannot open internet browsers-capture.png