Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Computer closes programs and shuts down randomly

(!)

Computer Specs
Junior Member with 1 posts.

Experience: Beginner
26-Dec-2010, 07:23 PM #1
Exclamation Computer closes programs and shuts down randomly
I've begun to notice that sometimes, when I play games on my computer, the game will freeze and then the computer closes the program on its own. Then it will take me to a blackish/transparent screen listing other programs I may want to close and gives me the option to shut down the computer or cancel. A lot of the time it wont give me a chance to respond and just begins to shut the computer down.
The problem first occured when I started playing an online game called Mabinogi. However, it happned rarely and was never persistant.
For christmas I got two of the Sims 3 expansions and installed them today. I was able to run the game for about an hour, then the computer closed the program. I was saving the game to protect it, so I assumed that it had finished and just turned off. However, when I reloaded the game, nothing was saved meaning that the game terminated early. So, already annoyed, that an hours worth of work was gone, I redid that things I was doing before (This time it only took a half hour to do) then I began to play like normal again. But the game froze for a short time, then the game minimized itself, shut down and the transparent black screen came up for a second then the computer started to shut down.