Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Windows XP Windows XP
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Need to wipe hard drive today... stumped!

(!)

Computer Specs
Member with 28 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
28-Mar-2012, 08:02 AM #1
Need to wipe hard drive today... stumped!
Hi,

I was given an older HP Pavilion a1532n from a former employer during an office upgrade. I'm a Mac user (and former Windows user, of course) but I work as a transcriptionist, just started a new job, and one of the job requirements is that I have a Windows system in use. I've already missed the first two days of work because of this issue.

When I hooked up the comp the other day for the first time, XP would load to the black Windows XP screen, then restart repeatedly at the same point. I couldn't boot into safe mode.

I tried using the HP recovery console and it wouldn't run.

I tried booting from the Windows CD and no go. It would bypass the CD altogether and go directly to the HD... again, trying to load XP repeatedly. I tried another copy of XP and same thing.

After two days of troubleshooting, attempted recoveries, attempted repairs, etc., I decided to wipe the hard drive and start over. The PC had been working prior to me inheriting it, but they said it had been "giving them trouble." They are Chinese and don't speak English very well, so I couldn't quite understand what the problem was.

I started with Killdisk and after 22 hours, it was at 6%. I had borrowed a keyboard and monitor from someone else (to make sure the tower worked before I bought my own), so I couldn't let it run for days and days... if I understand correctly, it shouldn't anyway.