Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Windows XP Windows XP
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

RE-FORMAT: F8 (I agree) command unresponsive. Windows XP Re-Install


(!)

fiLmNut's Avatar
fiLmNut fiLmNut is offline fiLmNut has a Profile Picture
Computer Specs
Member with 45 posts.
THREAD STARTER
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: East Coast (Maritimes), Canada
Experience: Intermediate
18-Aug-2012, 03:46 PM #16
A new bootsector was successfully written. (More details on PM's)

C:\>CHKDSK -R
The volume created 05/11/11 04:56p
The volume serial number is 005a-503a
CHKDSK is checking the volume...
CHKDSK is performing additional checking or recovery...
CHKDSK is performing additional checking or recovery...
CHKDSK is performing additional checking or recovery...
33% completed.
The volume appears to contain one or more unrecoverable problems.
7879788 kilobytes total disk space
787720 kilobytes are available.

4096 bytes in each allocation unit.
1969947 total allocation units on disk.
196930 allocation units available on disk.
C:\>
jet8300's Avatar
jet8300   (Justin) jet8300 is offline
Member with 13 posts.
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Experience: Advanced
18-Aug-2012, 03:56 PM #17
Did it just quit at that point? It looks like your drive might be bad.

I would figure out what brand it is, download the official bootable testing software, burn it to a disk and test the hard drive.
The BIOS should give you the model number of the drive, which will also tell you the manufacturer.
fiLmNut's Avatar
fiLmNut fiLmNut is offline fiLmNut has a Profile Picture
Computer Specs
Member with 45 posts.
THREAD STARTER
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: East Coast (Maritimes), Canada
Experience: Intermediate
18-Aug-2012, 04:02 PM #18
It continues until 33% - Did it two more times. What probability (%) would you give that it's bad? I am unable to access the F2 BIOS when booting up, TAB doesn't work either. Perhaps I am missing something, I don't see it failing without any apparent provocation.
jet8300's Avatar
jet8300   (Justin) jet8300 is offline
Member with 13 posts.
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Experience: Advanced
18-Aug-2012, 04:11 PM #19
Well in my experience when chkdsk fails like that it means there's something physically wrong with the hard drive or the hard drive cable. Depending on how comfortable/experienced you are, you could try removing the hard drive (I would assume it's pretty easy on that machine) and boot it up without the drive connected to see if you regain access to the bios. Aside from that it's a bit out of my realm of expertise and I would guess something is wrong with the keyboard or the system board. Hard drives can just fail. It's a moving part for one, it's in a mobile pc for two, and three - any of the pc's components have a chance to fail for no apparent reason just like any other piece of electronics or machinery.

Hopefully somebody else will chime in and can help you more than I have but my next step would be to remove that drive and try a different one or put it in another computer and run testing software on it.

Good luck.
fiLmNut's Avatar
fiLmNut fiLmNut is offline fiLmNut has a Profile Picture
Computer Specs
Member with 45 posts.
THREAD STARTER
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: East Coast (Maritimes), Canada
Experience: Intermediate
18-Aug-2012, 04:30 PM #20
fiLmNut's Avatar
fiLmNut fiLmNut is offline fiLmNut has a Profile Picture
Computer Specs
Member with 45 posts.
THREAD STARTER
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: East Coast (Maritimes), Canada
Experience: Intermediate
18-Aug-2012, 04:33 PM #21
I entered FORMAT C:

Which it completed.
fiLmNut's Avatar
fiLmNut fiLmNut is offline fiLmNut has a Profile Picture
Computer Specs
Member with 45 posts.
THREAD STARTER
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: East Coast (Maritimes), Canada
Experience: Intermediate
18-Aug-2012, 04:48 PM #22
After formatting it, I ran CHKDSK -R and it completed 100%

Ideas now?
jet8300's Avatar
jet8300   (Justin) jet8300 is offline
Member with 13 posts.
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Experience: Advanced
18-Aug-2012, 04:58 PM #23
Have you tried installing windows again now?
fiLmNut's Avatar
fiLmNut fiLmNut is offline fiLmNut has a Profile Picture
Computer Specs
Member with 45 posts.
THREAD STARTER
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: East Coast (Maritimes), Canada
Experience: Intermediate
18-Aug-2012, 05:17 PM #24
Via the typical method? There's no said way to install through the cmd screen is there?

A total sidenote, which I have no idea if it holds any indicative importance, but one time yesterday in the middle of all this I somehow made it to the blue wipe partition page, without success mind you, but for the life of me I cannot remember HOW I got to that specific screen.

So, the typical method or? I wanna make sure I follow advice to the letter, since you're my only hope, so following the successful CHKDSK -R I just left it on the cmd screen at C:\>
jet8300's Avatar
jet8300   (Justin) jet8300 is offline
Member with 13 posts.
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Experience: Advanced
18-Aug-2012, 05:20 PM #25
Yeah, reboot the computer and boot setup from cd. There's no way that I know of to start setup from the recovery console. The blue partition screen you're talking about is just after you press f8 to accept the license agreement, so that's why you haven't seen that screen again in awhile.
fiLmNut's Avatar
fiLmNut fiLmNut is offline fiLmNut has a Profile Picture
Computer Specs
Member with 45 posts.
THREAD STARTER
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: East Coast (Maritimes), Canada
Experience: Intermediate
18-Aug-2012, 05:22 PM #26
Yes, but I saw that screen well after the issue began, I'm POSITIVE I didn't press F8 to reach that screen.


So I typed exit it rebooted, loaded the set-up files, I pressed enter bringing me to the Terms Agreement screen and... F8 Unresponsive.

Last edited by fiLmNut; 18-Aug-2012 at 05:28 PM..
jet8300's Avatar
jet8300   (Justin) jet8300 is offline
Member with 13 posts.
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Experience: Advanced
18-Aug-2012, 05:27 PM #27
Well maybe something got corrupted when you tried to re-partition or re-format the drive. Check the cd for scratches before you run setup again. If it looks okay, then try to run setup from the cd again.
fiLmNut's Avatar
fiLmNut fiLmNut is offline fiLmNut has a Profile Picture
Computer Specs
Member with 45 posts.
THREAD STARTER
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: East Coast (Maritimes), Canada
Experience: Intermediate
18-Aug-2012, 05:40 PM #28
Dang. Same result.
fiLmNut's Avatar
fiLmNut fiLmNut is offline fiLmNut has a Profile Picture
Computer Specs
Member with 45 posts.
THREAD STARTER
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: East Coast (Maritimes), Canada
Experience: Intermediate
18-Aug-2012, 06:11 PM #29
Some threads suggest a BIOS tweak. When the Asus screen boots, I hit F2 and it goes to a black screen that basically says insert Windows CD and press a key. Alternatively, during the Asus start-up screen I instead hit TAB and it goes to a black screen with what I assume is the BIOS's logo and what not, but it disappears lightning fast.
fiLmNut's Avatar
fiLmNut fiLmNut is offline fiLmNut has a Profile Picture
Computer Specs
Member with 45 posts.
THREAD STARTER
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: East Coast (Maritimes), Canada
Experience: Intermediate
29-Aug-2012, 08:27 AM #30
Hi again everyone, So I got hold of another disc to see if that works, and it did the same thing, besides asking for a solution desperately... Drastic solutions, even.

I HAVE, HOWEVER, SUCCESSFULLY INSTALLED UBUNTU - WHAT DOES THIS DEVELOPMENT INDICATE ABOUT THE HARD DRIVE'S STATE?

Last edited by fiLmNut; 29-Aug-2012 at 01:47 PM..
As Seen On

BBC, Reader's Digest, PC Magazine, Today Show, Money Magazine
WELCOME TO TECH SUPPORT GUY!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.


(clock)
THIS THREAD HAS EXPIRED.
Are you having the same problem? We have volunteers ready to answer your question, but first you'll have to join for free. Need help getting started? Check out our Welcome Guide.

Search Tech Support Guy

Find the solution to your
computer problem!




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


WELCOME
You Are Using: Server ID
Trusted Website Back to the Top ↑

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2