Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Windows XP Windows XP
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Solved: Google Earth problem with DirectX wont start up ?

(!)

Member with 6 posts.

26-Mar-2013, 04:06 PM #1
Solved: Google Earth problem with DirectX wont start up ?
Hi
This is my first time on this site. I have a new problem!! I have Windows XP and have had no problems with using Google Earth. However, recently there was an automatic update and now my Google Earth will not load. A message come up indicating that it will not load with mode DirectX. So I looked and tried the corrections per their three suggestions of which none have corrected the problem. GE also will not run in the other suggested mode either. My Direct X is revised vision 11. I have also removed and reinstalled GE but still it is not working. I have searched the internet sites and saw that others are having the same problem with no correct solution. Can anyone please help and thanks.
Member with 231 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
26-Mar-2013, 04:42 PM #2
If it just happened then there might be a quick fix. That will link you to how to perform a System Restore, which should reset your PC back to just before that update when things went bad.

Now if that works, and the restore is successful, right click on My Computer and choose Properties. Go to the Automatic Updates tab and change it the second option , Download updates...etc
If you leave it on Automatic, the update will install again and you will be back to square one!
This way a little gold/yellow shield will appear from time to time to indicate new updates are available. You then choose Custom instead of Express so that you can control which updates will install.
Member with 3 posts.

26-Mar-2013, 07:20 PM #3