Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Windows XP Windows XP
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Registry cleaner messed my computer up

(!)

Computer Specs
Member with 12 posts.

Experience: Beginner
20-Jun-2008, 08:31 PM #1
Registry cleaner messed my computer up
Hi,

This is my first post, and I am a beginner, so please bear with me. Here is info about my computer:

Dell Dimension 4400
Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition 2002, Service Pack 2
Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 1.70GHz
384 Mb of Ram

OK, the other day I was working, trying to free up some space on my computer. I used a variety of programs that messed with the registry, deleted "Unnecessary files", & made other changes to supposedly help my computer. I suspect that one of them has caused all this trouble. Or maybe more than one of them.

Now I have so many problems -

Help & Support Center - when I click it, nothing happens, sometimes I got a message saying something about a service not running.

System Restore - when I try to use it, I just get a window that says System Restore, but it is just a blank white window.

Opera, Firefox - Many of the sites I try to use say that some script is not working.

My Computer - It takes forever to come up, and when it does it shows the flashlight searching for a long time. Then when it finds it, it looks different than it used to.

I tried to install a program and got a message that said I might not have the latest MDAC and JET drivers installed.

Now more bad news. I don't have the discs that came with the computer, because I let someone borrow them, and I can't get them back.

I would appreciate any help I can get. My roommate is going to kill me if I can't get this fixed.

Thank you for any help!
Senior Member with 1,649 posts.

20-Jun-2008, 08:52 PM #2