Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Windows XP Windows XP
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

bsod dell error code 2000-0146

(!)

Junior Member with 3 posts.

22-Feb-2010, 05:31 PM #1
bsod dell error code 2000-0146
hello this is my first time posting on here. i have a question my laptop has recently gone done with the blue screen of death i have a stop error code 0x0000007e and the dell error code is 2000-0146 appears as well. now i have been doing a lot of reading on the forums and have been following and trying everything everyone has been saying but nothing seems to work for me... first off i have a dell inspiron 1505 e laptop

the things that i have tried:
tried to run in all safe modes but it gets stuck and doesnt go anywhere
have the xp os cd i put that in then run through the cd drive and then it loads then i select repair and then loads dos and i hit 1 for windows then the admin password and then i have tried chkdsk and then i have also tried the /r with it it took about an hour or so and then it said it repaired it then went to reboot and nothing changed i also have done a fixboot nothing happened there either.

am i doing something wrong or is there some other way to go about fixing this?? i need some files of this laptop like itunes pictures and stuff...

any advice here would be great....
Member with 1,312 posts.

22-Feb-2010, 06:15 PM #2
Talking re: bsod dell....
Wow, I just returned that same laptop to a customer Saturday, for a HUGE variety of issues. lol.

Ok, what you will need to do is do a "repair install". You will use your XP disk, and go through the prompts as if you were going to install Windows (boot from CD/DVD).
When you are prompted to search for prior Windows installations, do that. You will then be notified that
there is a copy of Windows already on the drive, and you will be given the option to "repair Windows..."