Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Windows XP Windows XP
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Command Prompt Format for Reinstalling XP?

(!)

Member with 111 posts.

14-Apr-2010, 10:57 AM #1
Command Prompt Format for Reinstalling XP?
How exactly should this be written from the Microsoft Guide below as I am having the trouble outlined?

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/311755

c:
copy cd-rom:\win98\smartdrv.exe
copy cd-rom:\tools\oldmsdos\xcopy*.*

c:\windows\system32>c:
c:\windows\system32>c: copy d:\win98\smartdrv.exe
c:\windows\system32>c copy d:\tools\oldmsdos\xcopy*.*

Is my version correct above? Or how would I make the changes as I am a complete novice!! Not sure if the command should be written like this to begin with: c:\windows\system32>

Thanks

Last edited by mrfixituk; 14-Apr-2010 at 10:59 AM.. Reason: Extra information
Computer Specs
Member with 9,028 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
14-Apr-2010, 02:55 PM #2
The c:\windows\system32> part is the prompt that is displayed in the command prompt window showing you the current drive and directory.
You would type this:
Code:
C:
copy D:\win98\smartdrv.exe
copy D:\tools\oldmsdos\xcopy*.*
Assuming you started with the prompt showing c:\windows\system32>, What you would see is this, the blue text is displayed by the system, you do not type that part:
Code:
C:\Windows\system32>C:
C:\>copy D:\win98\smartdrv.exe
C:\>copy D:\tools\oldmsdos\xcopy*.*
flavallee   (Frank) flavallee is online now flavallee is a Trusted Advisor with special permissions. flavallee has a Profile Picture
Computer Specs
Trusted Advisor with 58,371 posts.

Experience: Advanced
14-Apr-2010, 04:39 PM #3
You're not able to boot from the XP CD and let it do all the work?

Do you have a full version or upgrade version XP CD?

---------------------------------------------------------------
Member with 111 posts.

16-Apr-2010, 08:05 AM #4