Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Windows XP Windows XP
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Local disc drive E: showing no space Help needed please

(!)

Junior Member with 4 posts.

Experience: Beginner
01-May-2010, 06:49 PM #1
Local disc drive E: showing no space Help needed please
I am new to this forum and was wondering if anyone could please help me with my problem. I have searched the internet for a solution but still struggling. Please bear with me as I am a newbie when it comes to technical stuff....When I purchased my computer I find I have local disk (E) and HDD (C), I am not sure why I have 2 seperate drives as I have only ever had a C drive on my past computers. all my programs seem to be on E drive and this is where the problem is I have perfomed disk cleanup and got rid of programs I dont use but still drive remains full?? I cannot run disk defragmenter as it tells me my drive is full. I am at a standstill and do not know what to do next please can anyone help me out.

My OS is Windows XP, File system NTFS, Local Disk E 5.99 GB with 18.1MB free, HDD C 180GB with 161GB free

Many thanks

Last edited by dolllydaisy; 01-May-2010 at 07:41 PM..
Member with 1,670 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
01-May-2010, 09:13 PM #2
all the programs installed and the operating system should be on "C" drive. It may be that "E"and "C" may be on the one HDD you can check this in disk management which is in administrative_tools/computer management located in the control panel. if the "E" drive is the system partition then you can move your own files to "C" and "my documents" as well will free up space, yes the "E" drive is full up and that is why you can't defrag "E"

02-May-2010, 04:29 AM #3