1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

1 cable modem with 1 router and 1 wireless router...possible

Discussion in 'Networking' started by bentz69, Mar 1, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bentz69

    bentz69 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Heres the situation. I am renting an apartment in someones home. They have provided me with an ethernet cable from their router(not wireless) but the line is located in a different part of the room that i want my computer to be located in. I CANNOT snake the wire under the carpet or along the wall and do not want a line running through my living room.

    So basically there is a cable modem in one section of the house with a conventional router attached to it. That router supplies me with a ethernet cable. I would like to put a wireless router on the cable that I have so I can use my computer in a different location. Will this work?
     
  2. dlsayremn

    dlsayremn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,862
  3. New york

    New york

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    You must have a wireless network card or adapter on your computer. That is a must if you're going to use your computer wirelessly.

    If i was you I would install the new wireless router on the other peoples computer who lives there and catch the signal with your computer. It's very easy to set up a router.
     
  4. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    I have my home network set up the same as you are wanting to do, so yes it will work. You will first need to know the IP address and DHCP range for the wired router. Then follow JohnWill's instructions linked above.

    Edit: Another thought. Since you do not own this network, be sure your computer administrator account (the one named administrator) has a password.
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Actually, you don't need any configuration details of the primary router, just what you can get from an IPCONFIG /ALL display. You don't change any of the configuration of the primary router, you just match the secondary router's configuration to the primary router.


    Connecting two (or more) SOHO broadband routers together.

    Note: The "primary" router can be an actual router, a software gateway like Microsoft Internet Connection Sharing, or a server connection that has the capability to supply more than one IP address using DHCP server capability. No changes are made to the primary "router" configuration.

    Configure the IP address of the secondary router(s) to be in the same subnet as the primary router, but out of the range of the DHCP server in the primary router. For instance DHCP server addresses 192.168.0.2 through 192.168.0.100, I'd assign the secondary router 192.168.0.254 as it's IP address, 192.168.0.253 for another router, etc.

    Note: Do this first, as you will have to reboot the computer to connect to the router again for the remaining changes.

    Disable the DHCP server in the secondary router.

    Setup the wireless section just the way you would if it was the primary router, channels, encryption, etc.

    Connect from the primary router's LAN port to one of the LAN ports on the secondary router. If there is no uplink port and neither of the routers have auto-sensing ports, use a cross-over cable. Leave the WAN port unconnected!

    This procedure bypasses the routing function (NAT layer) and configures the router as a switch (or wireless access point for wireless routers).

    For reference, here's a link to a Typical example config using a Netgear router
     
  6. bentz69

    bentz69 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    thanks. ill try this out in a few days and report back
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/805241

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice