1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

$10,000 Budget

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by laka777, Feb 23, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. laka777

    laka777 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Making new computer 6-8 monitors (8 preferred) for 80% business 20% gaming.

    Need a completely silent case so I don't hear the fans or whatever.

    Right now I'm looking at 2x http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814133165 for videocards.

    Soundcard?
    Speakers?

    CPU?
    mobo?

    HD?RAM?

    and what kind of monitors should i get? I use 2 ultrasharp 20.5" dell ones atm (1600x1200 res)

    any recommendations is appreciated. also wanna hook up a wiimote and a wireless internet card.
     
  2. D-Rock

    D-Rock

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    560
    are you serious about the 10 grand budget?
     
  3. laka777

    laka777 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    yes, i dont plan on spending that much lol... but i want a sick set up
     
  4. D-Rock

    D-Rock

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    560
    give me a real price range to work with and i will do just that.

    also, quadro cards arent good for gaming. you know that right?
     
  5. laka777

    laka777 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    it's not really a gaming comp. i'm getting it for something else... i just need alot of desktop space.

    ima say 4-5k including the monitors

    since monitors will be like 500 each
    and the video cards are 450 each


    also getting one of these: http://www.ergoindemand.com/
    (stand that holds a bunch of monitors)
     
  6. D-Rock

    D-Rock

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    560
    just for kicks here you go

    CPU

    RAM


    MOBO

    SPEAKERS

    SOUND CARD

    MONITORS

    HDD 1 (run two of these in raid 0)
    HDD 2 (use one of these for data storage)

    price before shipping is $4150 (approximate)

    this includes all 8 monitors and not the video cards or thermal solutions. you can lower the price greatly by changing the hard drives or the cpu, but i would go for the hard drives first.

    have fun

    any question?
     
  7. D-Rock

    D-Rock

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    560
    I can handle the thermal solutions too if you want.
     
  8. laka777

    laka777 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    I like the CPU / RAM and Speakers, duno about the 1 TB HD LOL.. For monitors, I need at least 1600x1200 resolution ones, probably gonna go with the Dell Ultrasharp 20.1" unless I can find better ones. I also need a case.. a really quiet one that makes no sound at all. If u could handle the thermal solutions, that would be wonderful. :)
     
  9. jonmcc33

    jonmcc33 Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    827
    Just tell him to go buy some Dells.
     
  10. Jackiefrost9

    Jackiefrost9

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,765
    That's a pretty mediocre computer for him wanting a sick setup. Just because you have a lot of monitors doesn't mean you can multi-task more. 2GB RAM? RAM's cheap, settle for no less than 4GB, but I'd say why not max out on 8? Get a motherboard with an X38 chipset, like the Gigabyte X38 DQ6. Unless you do a lot of CAD or 3D graphics rendering then don't get the Quadro. You mentioned 20% gaming, Quadro cards do not game. At all. Period. If you want to game and want to spend that much then go for two Radeon 3870 X2's. Go with Vista 64-bit. Don't listen to what people say about it sucking, it's faster than fast with 8GB of RAM behind it.



    And just wondering laka777, what are you going to use the 8 monitors for? seems like overkill to me. I mean, 4 I could justify but anything more than that... I would just knock off a couple and spend more on hardware.
     
  11. daniel_b2380

    daniel_b2380

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,392
    laka777,
    number of people today do a lot of 'talk' but,
    if you're serious about a cutting edge unit,
    [for personal use],
    right now, this is about as good as it gets,
    http://www.extremetech.com/article2/0,1697,2265042,00.asp
    the only problem i had,
    some of the hardware is a mite difficult to aquire,
    simply A - W - S - U - M ! - ! - !

    as an aside though,
    if you just want to spend money,
    drool, salivate, or don't care for intel,
    check out:
    "a new king of the High Performance Computing Top 500 list, the contender is Ranger, a 15,744 Quad-Core AMD Opteron behemoth built by Sun and hosted at the University of Texas with a peak processing power of 504 teraflops"
    http://www.rangersupercomputer.com/release.html

    [do you know what a 'teraflop' is?],

    enjoy,
     
  12. mclarenvj

    mclarenvj

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    652
    Its 1024GB or 1000GB (i can't remember)

    so it would be 504000Ghz, i feel sorry for the their Power Suplliers
     
  13. laka777

    laka777 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Thanks for the input guys, I'll look into what u have said. This computer will be used for stocktrading and lots of automation. A program will be running on its own on all 8 screens. The multiple screens only makes it easier for the viewer to enjoy. As for gaming, I thought I'd throw it in there to make the system better, but I probably won't be gaming that much on it.

    I like the idea of having a massive amount of ram since it'll be running many applications at once for an extended amount of time. I don't know much about computers so please keep giving me advice. And I am 100% serious about this comp and will be ordering it within the next week.


    (I don't know what a teraflop is but that might be overkill?)

    JackieFrost: I dont do a lot of CAD but I do need the 8 monitors. Is there an alternative I could get if the Quadro isn't sufficient?


    also, does anyone know of any nice looking monitors?
     
  14. daniel_b2380

    daniel_b2380

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,392
    mclarenvj,
    you were probably thinking of this:
    1 terabyte = 1024 gigabyte

    BUT:
    [simple answer]
    http://www.pcmag.com/encyclopedia_term/0,2542,t=terraflops&i=52747,00.asp
    Definition of: teraflops
    (tera FLoating point OPerations per Second) One trillion floating point operations per second. In 2007, IBM's BlueGene/L supercomputer, designed for computational science at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, achieved 478.2 teraFLOPS (TFLOPS).

    It has been said that the human brain processes 100 teraFLOPS; however, the older one gets, that seems to be a gross exaggeration!

    [read more]
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Terraflops
     
  15. jonmcc33

    jonmcc33 Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    827
    laka777, I'm going to give you the best advice possible. Go to Dell and purchase from there. You can get a warranty + tech support through them. If you build it yourself for your company you aren't going to get either of that. Trust me on this.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Budget
  1. Budgie123
    Replies:
    20
    Views:
    372
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/686525

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice