1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

100% CPU Usage when using any browser

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by broquiem, Apr 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. broquiem

    broquiem Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    If I watch any kind of video or go to a heavily flash based website on any browse(Tried FF/IE/Opera/Chrome) my CPU will hover around 60-80% Usage for a few seconds then go to 100% and stay there consistently. I've tried closing all backround programs to no avail, I also achieve 100% CPU usage if I have so much as AIM/Any Browser/Skype open at the same time. I did a clean install to Windows 7 recently and still have these problems.

    My specs:

    AMD Turion X2 RM 70 @ 2000MHz
    4gb DDR2 RAM
    ATI Radeon HD 3200
    Win7 home premium x64


    (Scanned during 100%)Hijackthis log:

    Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.4
    Scan saved at 4:41:42 AM, on 4/22/2010
    Platform: Windows 7 (WinNT 6.00.3504)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v8.00 (8.00.7600.16385)
    Boot mode: Normal

    Running processes:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\AIM\aim.exe
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Trend Micro\HiJackThis\HiJackThis.exe
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant =
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,CustomizeSearch =
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page = C:\Windows\SysWOW64\blank.htm
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Toolbar,LinksFolderName =
    F2 - REG:system.ini: UserInit=userinit.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Skype] "C:\Program Files (x86)\Skype\Phone\Skype.exe" /nosplash /minimized
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Aim] "C:\Program Files (x86)\AIM\aim.exe" /d locale=en-US
    O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-19\..\Run: [Sidebar] %ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\Sidebar.exe /autoRun (User 'LOCAL SERVICE')
    O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-19\..\RunOnce: [mctadmin] C:\Windows\System32\mctadmin.exe (User 'LOCAL SERVICE')
    O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-20\..\Run: [Sidebar] %ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\Sidebar.exe /autoRun (User 'NETWORK SERVICE')
    O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-20\..\RunOnce: [mctadmin] C:\Windows\System32\mctadmin.exe (User 'NETWORK SERVICE')
    O9 - Extra button: PokerStars - {3AD14F0C-ED16-4e43-B6D8-661B03F6A1EF} - C:\Program Files (x86)\PokerStars\PokerStarsUpdate.exe
    O18 - Protocol: skype4com - {FFC8B962-9B40-4DFF-9458-1830C7DD7F5D} - C:\PROGRA~2\COMMON~1\Skype\SKYPE4~1.DLL
    O23 - Service: Andrea ST Filters Service (AESTFilters) - Andrea Electronics Corporation - C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\stwrt64.inf_amd64_neutral_b87ff64c8b56b7db\AESTSr64.exe
    O23 - Service: @%SystemRoot%\system32\Alg.exe,-112 (ALG) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\System32\alg.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: AMD External Events Utility - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\atiesrxx.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @%SystemRoot%\system32\efssvc.dll,-100 (EFS) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\System32\lsass.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @%systemroot%\system32\fxsresm.dll,-118 (Fax) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\fxssvc.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: HP Service (hpsrv) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\Hpservice.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @keyiso.dll,-100 (KeyIso) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\lsass.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @comres.dll,-2797 (MSDTC) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\System32\msdtc.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @%SystemRoot%\System32\netlogon.dll,-102 (Netlogon) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\lsass.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @%systemroot%\system32\psbase.dll,-300 (ProtectedStorage) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\lsass.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @%systemroot%\system32\Locator.exe,-2 (RpcLocator) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\locator.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @%SystemRoot%\system32\samsrv.dll,-1 (SamSs) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\lsass.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @%SystemRoot%\system32\snmptrap.exe,-3 (SNMPTRAP) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\System32\snmptrap.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @%systemroot%\system32\spoolsv.exe,-1 (Spooler) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\System32\spoolsv.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @%SystemRoot%\system32\sppsvc.exe,-101 (sppsvc) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\sppsvc.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: Audio Service (STacSV) - IDT, Inc. - C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\stwrt64.inf_amd64_neutral_b87ff64c8b56b7db\STacSV64.exe
    O23 - Service: TeamViewer 5 (TeamViewer5) - TeamViewer GmbH - C:\Program Files (x86)\TeamViewer\Version5\TeamViewer_Service.exe
    O23 - Service: @%SystemRoot%\system32\ui0detect.exe,-101 (UI0Detect) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\UI0Detect.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @%SystemRoot%\system32\vaultsvc.dll,-1003 (VaultSvc) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\lsass.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @%SystemRoot%\system32\vds.exe,-100 (vds) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\System32\vds.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @%systemroot%\system32\vssvc.exe,-102 (VSS) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\vssvc.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @%SystemRoot%\system32\Wat\WatUX.exe,-601 (WatAdminSvc) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\Wat\WatAdminSvc.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @%systemroot%\system32\wbengine.exe,-104 (wbengine) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\wbengine.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @%Systemroot%\system32\wbem\wmiapsrv.exe,-110 (wmiApSrv) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\wbem\WmiApSrv.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @%PROGRAMFILES%\Windows Media Player\wmpnetwk.exe,-101 (WMPNetworkSvc) - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Media Player\wmpnetwk.exe (file missing)

    --
    End of file - 5574 bytes
     
  2. broquiem

    broquiem Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    I forgot to add that I used to run Vista before upgrading to 7 and still had the same problems.
     
  3. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,451
    First Name:
    Derek
    if you had probklem in previous OS & did a clean install of W7 64 bit, it is extremely unlikely to be malware

    moved to W7 forum

    I suspect a driver issue with graphics card or sound
     
  4. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    What specific process is showing the high CPU usage?

    What is the Windows Experience Index on that system? >> http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows7/What-is-the-Windows-Experience-Index

    Have you monitored for possible overheating (laptops are especially prone to this)?

    http://www.majorgeeks.com/download337.html

    Also, can you report on this >>

    If you open the Device Manager (run devmgmt.msc) and select the entry for IDE ATA/Atapi and select the Primary IDE > Advanced Settings, does it say the "current transfer mode" is Ultra DMA or PIO?

    What is the UDMA value for the IDE controller there?
     
  5. broquiem

    broquiem Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Firefox or which ever browser I try to view videos with is the process that hits 100, and the Win Experience index is 4.1.

    The current transfer mode is Ultra DMA and the UDMA value is 5.

    I also have looked into possible heating issues but I don't think heat is the cause of this problem as all my temps are a little over average and I've had this problem hot and cool.

    EDIT/Update: Used Uniblue to scan my drivers, all are up to date.
     
  6. jiml8

    jiml8 Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,634
    More than likely you just don't have enough horsepower to run the apps you want to run. You are showing a 2000 MHz AMD processor, but the dual core won't help you with anything that uses one processor AND needs more time to complete the things it is doing. Also, your graphics capability isn't anything to write home about.

    I recently replaces an AMD Athlon 2700 clocked at 2166 MHz and nVidia 7800GS video with a quad-core Phenom-II clocked at 3200 MHz and nVidia 240GT video because my Athlon was commonly sitting at 100% utilization, while the quality of the video I was watching in either firefox or any media player was marginal at best.

    That change - by itself (no reload of OS or anything else) solved all my problems.
     
  7. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Your WEI, while not great, should be more than adequate. My Win7 box has a WEI of 3.3 and I have not seen this issue on any but full screen HD flash. If this is only with HD, you might try the lower bandwidth version as a test.

    Have you installed the chipset drivers for the motherboard? I don't know if your "scan" covers that.
     
  8. broquiem

    broquiem Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Updated my mobo's drivers, still have the same problem, If I go to any website with videos using any browser I'm sitting at 100% usage.
     
  9. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11,882
    Update the graphics driver if it is not already up to date . Also get the latest version of Flash from Adobe.
     
  10. broquiem

    broquiem Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    GPU is up to date, but Adobe doesn't have a flash 10 version for 64bit Win7 and I have tried running 32 bit versions of IE and FF which still show the same problem.
     
  11. antech

    antech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    Which antivirus do you use?
     
  12. broquiem

    broquiem Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Avast professional.
     
  13. antech

    antech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    That should be fine.
    Install 32 bit Flash Player in Firefox x32
     
  14. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/918493

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice