1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

100v - 240v adapter to a 110v socket?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Euthor, Dec 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Euthor

    Euthor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Is it okay to plug a 100v - 240v adapter to a 110v socket?

    I use a standard Automatic Voltage Regulator powerbox with two 220v sockets and one 110v (50hz max) socket. I use the two 220v for my pc and speakers.

    The 110v socket is the one I'm looking to use it with. My wifi uses an adapter that says: 100v-240v (50hz-60hz) input. Can I plug it in 110v socket?

    I just need to be sure before anything explode.
     
  2. bp936

    bp936

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    3,033
    Depending in what country you are in.

    If everything is a 110v appliance , use only 110v
    if it's 240v, use 220.

    If you plug something into a 110v plug that needs 240, it will be getting less electricity or do damage

    if you plug anything into a 240v plug that is only for 110v, it will fry it and might cause a fire. (n)(n)(n):eek:

    we have a few very knowledgeable people here, someone might give you a better explanation but do not plug 110 into a 220v EVER
     
  3. Euthor

    Euthor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    The Adapter input says:

    Input: 100-240v~50-60hz 0.5A
    Output: 24V

    My country is using 220V.

    It's the dash thingie in "100-240v" is what made me think it's okay to plug it in a 110v socket.

    So is it really a no?

    Thanks
     
  4. dustyjay

    dustyjay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    First Name:
    Jay
    Actually it should work fine. The dash between the two voltages means that is the operational range of the adapter. It will provide a 24V output plugged into an outlet where the voltage falls with in the range provide 100-240V AC Same with the frequency 50-60Hz
     
  5. BG-0

    BG-0

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    6,922
    As long as the adapter has a plug that goes into the 110 V socket in your powerbox. Take a careful glance around the adapter to see if it has a voltage switch, though.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/886685

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice