1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

16 bit windows subsystem (xp home)

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by boogey, Sep 21, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. boogey

    boogey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    144
    I tried to install avg free version and my 'puter wont install...i am running windows xp home edition...the message i keep getting is ......under the heading 16 bit windows subsystem.....c:\windows\system32\autoexec.nt. the system file not suitable for running ms-dos and microsoft windows applications......it also happens when i try to bring up games that i could previously play and now can't ...like freecell ....and the like.
    if any one knows what is wrong ...please help out someone who does not....i even went so far as to over install windows again...thanx in advance


    Boogey :confused:
     
  2. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    Try going into the Windows folder, there is another folder in there called "repair" which has a copy of the file, just copy it over the old one in the system32 folder.

    or

    Put in your XP cd
    from the command line type:
    expand D:\i386\autoexec.nt_ c:\windows\system32\autoexec.nt
     
  3. boogey

    boogey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    144
    thank you again Cheeseball81....i copied it over and it worked! ..But....everytime i turn off the computer it wont work again and i have to copy it again!!
     
  4. mike5532g

    mike5532g

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,312
    Right click autoexec.nt, properties, select 'read only' and click ok. It should stay now.
     
  5. rangeelaray

    rangeelaray

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks a lot Cheeseball and Mike..... i had the same prob and it got resolved.... got this post by searching the error message through google and also got to knw this gr8 website.

    Cheers

    RR
     
  6. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    You're welcome :)
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/276682

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice