16 colours?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

wazetta

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 16, 2001
Messages
4
I'm using a temporary monitor which is ancient. It's a philips pro 3cm9609 14". Can't find it listed when I try to use the hardware wizard. Tried to install as standard vga, but each time I reboot Windows detects it as a default monitor. I can't choose a display adapter that works. I keep getting a message that says it will conflict with other hardware if I try. I am stuck in 16 colour-mode, there is no compatible hardware shown in the list in the wizard. I have an intel 810 integrated chipset. Now I am lost and annoyed as I can't run many applications with lack of colour. HELP!!!
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1999
Messages
12,041
sounds like you need to reinstall your video card drivers and not worry about monitor drivers for the mean time.
If you have the video card drivers reinstall them or download and reinstall from manufacturer.
 

wazetta

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 16, 2001
Messages
4
I don't know what I have as far as video cards as concerned. I had a look earlier but didnt know what I was looking for really. I did the debug thing in dos and came up with ibm stuff, tried it in add new hardware but it wasn't too happy. Still lost I'm afraid....
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1999
Messages
12,041
Is your video card onboard, or do you have a addin card.

If your monitor connects near the top of the computer and not in the add in slots(pci slots)then you have onboard. Connects closer to paralell and serial port connectors???
You can download the driver from here http://appsr.cps.intel.com/scripts-df/Product_Filter.asp?ProductID=178


If it connects to a card that has been installed in one of the pci slots in the back(there should be several, some with metal covers over them that are not used) then will have to try something else
 

wazetta

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 16, 2001
Messages
4
cheers, but I've already been there and downloaded that, it won't work, it says there are conflicts with other devices. This is strange as it worked perfectly well with my other monitor(which is being repaierd at present). I just hope something will turn up!
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1999
Messages
12,041
You probably need to reboot the machine and startup in safe mode to install it. Don't beleive it will work in a normal boot
 

wazetta

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 16, 2001
Messages
4
sorry to be ignorant, can you give me some instructions on how to do this? Thankyou.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1999
Messages
12,041
Restart the machine, just after the memory count and before the windows loading message start tapping the F5 key for win95/the F8 key for win98, you should get the startup menu, from the menu choose safe mode. Once booted try and reinstall the drivers and then reboot.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top