1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

162 (System Options Not Set) - keyboard no longer works

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by JDHal, Jul 8, 2017.

Advertisement
  1. JDHal

    JDHal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    I'm using an HP dc5800 microtower. I shut it down one day by pulling the cord (I know, stupid), and the next day I got a 162: System Options Not Set message. At the bottom of the message there was a button Saying Press F1 to Save Changes (paraphrasing here). I pressed F1, but nothing happened. My keyboard just doesn't seem to work anymore with the machine (it did work before, in Windows 7). The keyboard is a Logitech K400r, a wireless keyboard with a USB dongle. Help would be greatly appreciated.

    Example (not mine) of 162 screen : http://cfile25.uf.tistory.com/image/2269FA3D52535B640BA7BC
     
  2. Oddba11

    Oddba11 Jim

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    6,627
    The error you noted sounds like a BIOS message. This type of error is often related to the BIOS battery being faulty and the BIOS not retaining the configuration or a corrupted BIOS.

    You may want to try booting into the BIOS and restoring back to factory default and then exit saving the settings.

    You could also try booting into setup (F10) and verifying the config. There is a guide here: http://h10032.www1.hp.com/ctg/Manual/c01363881

    There is also a troubleshooting guide here (which includes a section on how to clear the CMOS, which would be the next step if the above doesn't work): http://h10032.www1.hp.com/ctg/Manual/c01363877
     
  3. JDHal

    JDHal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks for the reply Jim!

    I did replace the onboard coin cell battery, with no effect.

    If I could restore the settings or do anything else in the BIOS, I would. The problem is, to do that I have to press keys on my keyboard. Whenever I press any key while the keyboard is connected to that computer, nothing happens. Just to clarify, the keyboard does work on other computers, it just doesn't respond when plugged in to the one in question. I ordered a legacy (ps2) keyboard to see if changing keyboards will do anything.

    What you mentioned about resetting the CMOS might be my only option if changing the keyboards doesn't work. Will doing a reset of the CMOS erase my hard disk, or delete my copy of Windows from the machine? Can resetting the CMOS permanently damage any part of the computer?

    Also, if I decide to try restting the CMOS, where is the CMOS reset button located on my motherboard?
     
  4. Oddba11

    Oddba11 Jim

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    6,627
    Entering the BIOS and restoring back to factory default and physically clearing the CMOS both do the same thing (ie: set the BIOS back to default).
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1192696