1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

192.168.0.1 will not load!

Discussion in 'Networking' started by pccomputer, Dec 19, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. pccomputer

    pccomputer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    HELLO

    this page will not load. im using firefox version 5 and up. why won it load?

    router model is DIR-615

    thanks
     
  2. aka Brett

    aka Brett Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16,918
  3. aka Brett

    aka Brett Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16,918
  4. pccomputer

    pccomputer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    hey i think theirs somehitng wrong with the ethernet connection.

    that activity light wont flash, but the routers working perfectly well, could this be a cuase of it?

    mines a motorola SB5101, router is DIR-615

    do you think my ethernet in the modem is busted ?
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Reset the router to factory defaults by holding the reset button down for 15 seconds with power on. The following procedure should get you a connection with any broadband modem that is configured to use DHCP for the router connection, such as cable modems, and many DSL modems. If you require PPPoE configuration for the DSL modem, that will have to be configured to match the ISP requirements.

    • Turn off everything, the modem, router, computer.
    • Connect the modem to the router's WAN/Internet port.
    • Connect the computer to one of the router's LAN/Network ports.
    • Turn on the modem, wait for a steady connect light.
    • Turn on the router, wait for two minutes.
    • Boot the computer.

    When the computer is completely booted, let's see this.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  6. Jason08

    Jason08

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,723
    What is the manufacturer and model number of your modem?
     
  7. pccomputer

    pccomputer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]


    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : chi-6b8b596c0ee
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethe
    rnet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0C-6E-79-3D-59
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

    says that,

    also i cant get on the internet with the ethernet cord attached to the computer from the modem, i had to use the usb cord to connect them. when the ethernet cords in the usb isnt, the pc activity light does not light up only when i put the usb cord in it lights up-blinking.

    i went to a computer expert and they said i needed to buy an ethernet card? :confused:

    and router is D-link, modem is motorola surfboard Sb5101
    thanks
     
  8. Shaldares

    Shaldares

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    126
    Well, from the IPCONFIG that you posted, it's showing that you don't have a default gateway. That would most likely be the reason that you are unable to pull up your router page, but also, you shouldn't be able to connect without a default gateway :S . When you did this IPCONFIG, where you able to connect to the internet? And were you connecting to the router or the modem? Also, do you have a USB-ethernet adapter? As far as the purchasing the ethernet card, looks like you have one to me.
     
  9. pccomputer

    pccomputer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    when i did the ipconfig, the internet was offline, i couldnt connect to it. after that i plugged the usb back in so the internet would work.
    The ethernet was connected to the router and computer.

    a usb ethernet adapter ?
     
  10. Shaldares

    Shaldares

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    126
    In that case you may have a bad ethernet card, but that shouldn't stop you from getting into your router admin page if you are connected to the router in another way. could you post another IPCONFIG /ALL while connected to the USB? And a USB to ethernet adaptor is basically an aadaptor that plugs into a USB port that you can plug an ethernet cord into to act as your network adaptor. Also another couple of steps to see if it is your ethernet card or not, you could try plugging the other end of the ethernet into a different port on your router, try another ethernet cord, and/or try plugging it into another computer (if available).
     
  11. pccomputer

    pccomputer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : chi-6b8b596c0ee
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : vic.bigpond.net.au

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethe
    rnet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0C-6E-79-3D-59

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : vic.bigpond.net.au
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Motorola SURFboard SB5101 USB Cable
    Modem
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-12-C9-58-CF-5E
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 124.191.67.65
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.248.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 124.191.64.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 172.18.52.149
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 61.9.133.193
    61.9.134.49
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, December 20, 2008 7:32:55
    PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, December 21, 2008 7:32:55 PM

    this is what it says when i connect te usb in, the internet is working. router is unplugged, ehternet cord is unplugged
     
  12. Shaldares

    Shaldares

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    126
    Ok, judged on that one, let me see if I have this right. You have a computer, a router, and a modem.. When you use your USB it connects directly to the modem, but you need to get to the admin page on the router. Is that correct?
     
  13. pccomputer

    pccomputer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    when the usb is connected to the modem the internet works!

    but ethernet doesnt
     
  14. Jason08

    Jason08

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,723
    Do you reset the modem when you try to connect via Ethernet?
     
  15. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,493
    All you have to do is disable ICS and then make sure your ethernet connection's TCP/IP Properties are set to 'obtain IP auto' and 'obtain DNS auto.'
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/781107