1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

1st post

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by tedfat, Sep 11, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tedfat

tedfat Thread Starter

Well hope you guys can help me.
    I have a 20 gig hard drive on a micro computer.
    When i installed xp on it i didnt know about partitioning at the time so it automaticaly divided into 2 gig and 18 gig.
    Because i was a bit of a newbie a couple of years ago i didnt want to start messing around with stuff so left it as it was, only problem was as you can imagine everytime i downloaded something i would have to transfer it straight away from my 2 gig part (c: drive) to the 18 gig partition ( e:drive) anyway after months and months of doing this and running out of space i decided to do something about it. I borrowed of my brother some sort of partition and was messing about with it but to no avail.
    Now one day when i put the computer on whether it be me messing around or a virus i went on my computer and had a ? mark over the e:drive and it couldn't find it.
    Non of my programmes would work either,.
    i lost everything.
    I have tried loads of programmes to find lost files etc... but to no avail.
    But if i right click on my computer, manage, storage, and disk management it tells me i have a c drive with 2 gig that is nearly full and the other one says new partition 17.08 gig with only 1.8 gig remaining.
    So i know that the partition and stuff is still there, it just cant access it.
    I have tried to rename it to e drive and f drive but for some reason it wont let me.
    I can right click on the 18 gig but it wont let me alter anything, like mark opartition as active or change path etc.

So does anyone know how i can get it back or is it a lost cause?