2.6v RAM in 2.5v MOBO?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

rmklotz4

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2007
Messages
61
Hey guys,

I want to upgrade my memory in my Dell Inspiron 9100. So, I went to Crucial.com to see what type of ram i needed. I was able to find some Kingston Value RAM on newegg.com cheaper. It matched all of the Specs of the ram on crucial, except the voltage was 2.6v instead of 2.5v. Is there a way to use this RAM in my computer? Is there a way to change that voltage setting in my BIOS? I have this RAM and I dont want to send it back unless I have to. Thanks!!!
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
That small an amount will make no difference. It's within the normal range of voltage fluctuatuions, anyway. If all else is right, that RAM will work fine.
 

rmklotz4

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2007
Messages
61
will it work fine? or just as good? will there be performance differences if i just returned it and bought the exact kind? Any stability issues?
 

rmklotz4

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2007
Messages
61
GREAT!!! thank you so much. I was trying to change settings in my BIOS and i almost shipped them back! Thanks
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
That less than a 4% voltage difference. Very small and less than normal voltage ranges. So let us know how it works and if you see a difference.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
If someone sees this (and they will), and they have opinions (and they are never shy about that), I'm sure they will express them.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
I guess it's up to you. If you are sure that you ordered the right RAM and the numbers correspond, then it is probably right. Don't consider the voltage issue at all since that part is irrelevant.

There is nothing really to prevent a return even if opened if it is the wrong RAM.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top