1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved 2 accounts compter only sees 1 account

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by corkie69, Dec 27, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. corkie69

    corkie69 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Hi I hope I can explain this properly but I am running win10 on a ace aspire 5733-6424 I have 2 accounts on my computer my husband and mine I am the admin. when I started my computer the other day it showed my account and his so I sign into mine but it said invalid password I even tried with Microsoft password did the same but yesterday when I turn the computer on it only shows my husbands account I have no problem getting in to his account but I cant make any changes because he not the admin. when I tried it wont let me do you have any idea what happen and how I can get my account back I tried microsoft tech support I spent about a half hour and he said I would have to call them to get help and of couse thats not free and I am on a fix income so I hope you can help before I have to go that way thank you guys so much you guys do great work
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Home, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU M 370 @ 2.40GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 37 Stepping 5
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 3766 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics, 1755 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 447 GB (292 GB Free);
    Motherboard: Acer, Aspire 5733
    Antivirus: Microsoft Security Essentials, Disabled
     
  2. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,233
    Firstly, before dealing with the actual problem, there is something wrong
    The system information utility shows
    Microsoft Security Essentials does NOT run on 10 it is Windows Defender and our information utility would show Defender
    The fact that it shows MSE as disabled is not a concern, as that is a glitch in the information utility, but as I said the fact that it shows MSE is an indication that something is wrong

    Check please when booting into your husbands account that Defender is activated and then run a quick scan
    Report the results please

    Also go as here
    1. Open Start.
    2. Search for PowerShell and click the top result.

    3. Type the following command to list all the existing accounts and press Enter:

      Get-LocalUser
    is your account shown there and if so is it shown as disabled
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2018
  3. corkie69

    corkie69 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    I went and looked Defender is activated and in powershell all I found was my husbands account I am going to do the scan now I will let you know if I find anything
     
  4. corkie69

    corkie69 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    I did the scan and found nothing
     
  5. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,233
    PLEASE confirm that in the powershell window
    Even if your account was NOT shown - the only one that was shown was your husbands
    NO guest account
    NO system account
    etc .
    JUST the one account for your husband
     
  6. corkie69

    corkie69 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Hi Again yes all that it say PS C:\users\Rich>
    how can I lose a account this win 10 is driving me crazy
    thank you for taking the time to help
     
  7. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,233
    When you say
    that you are quoting is the cmd when you open powershell
    What is the result when you issue to powershell the cmd
    as the result whatever it is cannot be what you reported unless it simply returns to the cmd prompt
    see the screenshot please
    get-localuser-powershell-command.jpg

    where your quote
    C:\Users\Rich>
    is shown as
    C:\Users\xbox1>
     
  8. corkie69

    corkie69 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    No Matter what I do it still comes up the same it only shows his account is there something else I can try
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2018
  9. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,301
    First Name:
    David
    It appears that your account has been removed.
    Are the folder there under "Users" when view them using Windows Manger?
    If the folders are there, then the files are.
    Post a screen shot of these users folders?

    Have you gone to the Control Panel and accounts to see if it is listed there?
    Post a screen shot of the Accounts listed ?
     
  10. corkie69

    corkie69 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    I found it
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2018
  11. corkie69

    corkie69 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    21
  12. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,301
    First Name:
    David
    Use Windows Explorer instead of the PowerShell and show all sub folders under both Rich and Mary?

    The User Folders are there but is the Account?
    Open Control Panel and then Accounts and then click Family and Other Users.
    This will show ALL accounts and there type.
     
  13. corkie69

    corkie69 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    21
  14. corkie69

    corkie69 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    I dont understand about sub folders
     
  15. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,301
    First Name:
    David
    Have you gone to the Safe mode and logged in using the built in "Administrator" account?
    Then see what accounts are listed within the Control Panel?

    Then if you files all of your data under "Users\Mary|" then you can copy these to an external drive.

    The try making your self a NEW Admin account (may not be able to use "Mary").
    Once this new account is logged into then you can restore you data from the external drive.

    EDIT:
    When you get this new Mary Admin account setup, make yourself another "Admin" account with a very strong password. Login to it and get it set up, the log out of it and log back into you new Mary account.
    We have the additional Admin account and same password on all of our machines. It is a back door for those times when needed, as you have now have. The only time we use this account and password is when needed, also if there this account on all machines on the network, sharing of files seem easier.
    We use Zorro the account name and use a Zorro desktop wallpaper, which stands out as to what account we are in. This puts it at the end of the list.
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2018
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1221012

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice