2 factor authentication

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ozziebeanie

Serena
Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 24, 2009
Messages
1,473
Hi all


Having a bit of bother with this 2 factor Authentication business, I do not want to use it for anything other than a Facebook WORK page (not my personal Facebook page) I did have an authentication app linked to my Google Chrome of which is the main page I use when on the net


It worked last time I was setting up the work page but I had not been in it for ages, then when I attempted to go into my WORK Facebook page today it asked for the six digit code as it did last time (it’s the rules we have to have this) and none appeared, I cannot even remember where the app was and needless to say no six digit code appeared


Anyway I went in search for a code generator and went to download about 4 different ones I found and they said it was unavailable for this device and the 2 I downloaded on my phone want to scan a QR code, and cannot find any buttons to click that say generate a code.


I do not want to get an app that will add a two factor authentication to everything on my device as some will with the Windows one and several others – I will not be using this other account at work only voluntary monitoring it from home, my personal Facebook does not have this and i wont be its a pain


Does anyone have any ideas on what I am supposed to do, or can do, I am all for monitoring the work Facebook of which is why a second Facebook was created but I do not want it interfering with stuff on my home computer even though I will be using it on my home computer, I did think I would set it up on my laptop and just using that but it crapped out and to be honest I barely used it twice in the last year so do not have the motivation to fix it


Any pointers in the right direction would be much appreciated

Serena
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2007
Messages
14,553
The way 2FA apps work is to go to the web site's security page and scan a QR code. Then based on that QR code, it generates a 6 digit number for you. Then the next time you sign to the site, you can read the 6 digit code off the app.
 

ozziebeanie

Serena
Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 24, 2009
Messages
1,473
The way 2FA apps work is to go to the web site's security page and scan a QR code. Then based on that QR code, it generates a 6 digit number for you. Then the next time you sign to the site, you can read the 6 digit code off the app.
Thanks for answering, but where do i find the QR code on my work Facebook page to start it off?
 

ozziebeanie

Serena
Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 24, 2009
Messages
1,473
Thanks for that, my other Facebook account is linked to my work email but its not a business ID, but i belong to the departments Facebook page, (the only one my second ID belongs to) and will only be adding people if any that are also monitoring that page, so do not know if questions on a single ID will work when i click on that link but will give it a go, thank you Lunarlander
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
41,495
2FA wouldn’t be turned on without being set up with an app. I am not sure about an app (extension?) for 2FA within chrome though. I would assume it would be on a cellphone.
 

ozziebeanie

Serena
Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 24, 2009
Messages
1,473
i am not getting anything about this 2 factor thing and not understanding it either and god knows where the first 2 factor thing i had on here went, as i was able to log into the work one from home before
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
41,495
Supposedly Facebook has its own code generator within the Facebook app but I have not seen it since the app was updated a while ago. I am suspecting that is what it’s asking.

since you said it’s a work page , I assume others have access to this page too?
 

ozziebeanie

Serena
Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 24, 2009
Messages
1,473
Supposedly Facebook has its own code generator within the Facebook app but I have not seen it since the app was updated a while ago. I am suspecting that is what it’s asking.

since you said it’s a work page , I assume others have access to this page too?
We all do have access to the work Facebook page but we all have our own Facebook ID’s with our work email. We do not need a code generator for the work page, only our ID's, I access Facebook via my Google Chrome on my desktop not a Facebook app like on my iPhone, the phone app I will never use for my work ID, i only use the Facebook app on my phone for my personal Facebook if i am not at home and do not have access to my PC.


Yes for the work ID I did turn on 2 factor authentication (as work requested) but if I do it via the Facebook web page as in using the Facebook authenticator on my desktop it is likely to do that for my personal ID and every other person who uses my PC on the odd occasion, of which I do not want to happen. At the moment it only asks for it if i use my work Facebook on my pc but at present can not get into it because i need that six digit code.


The windows authenticator one, if you use that it asks for an ID for every little thing you do including using a search engine etc etc. I do not mind if a authenticator is on my phone if I just click on it and get a code and enter it in to the Google Chrome web page of Facebook I am trying to log into, that would be good but I do not know if you can do that or which authenticator app to use if I can do that.


Because I do not work full time and while we are on lock down and a co-worker is a close contact to someone that has tested positive to covid, lucky i was away when that happend. I am not able to go into work even to do the other work i do there, so I am not at work to use the tech support team and when we do start monitoring the work page, I will not be logging in at work, only at home, even when I can return to work.

Serena
 

ozziebeanie

Serena
Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 24, 2009
Messages
1,473
Thanks for answering lochlomonder No, tried that one and had to sign into everything with a code every single time, ended up getting rid of it
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top