1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

2 monitors and a KVM switch

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ncvet007, Dec 10, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ncvet007

    ncvet007 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    I am running 2 computers through a Tripp-Lite KVM switch on 1 monitor. Is is possible to do 2 monitors while on one of the computers and then switch to the other computer and do 2 monitors again with that one? Or is it easier to get a large monitor and do a split screen with software whenever I switch computers?
    Thanks in advance for your attention.
     
  2. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11,821
    How many VGA ports are there on the KVM? If there is only one, then you can only connect one monitor
     
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,675
    First Name:
    Frank
    You did not say which model number Tripp Lite KVM switch you have.
    I was not able to find one that works with 2 monitors that each use a standard 15-pin VGA connection.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. ncvet007

    ncvet007 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    The model is: B006-VU4-R
    I have 5 ports. 3 occupied. 1 for each computer and 1 going to the monitor.
     
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,675
    First Name:
    Frank
  6. ncvet007

    ncvet007 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Thanks for the info. I think I'll get a bigger monitor and do a split screen. (On one computer at a time.)
     
  7. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,966
    First Name:
    Jay
    It's Possible
    Use Two .. 2 port KVMs
    Ive got 3 computers, each running dual screens using 3 monitors, and three 2port KVMs.

    3 Monitor config …
    Main1 …. Second1 or Main2 or Main3 … Second2 or Second3.
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2018
  8. ncvet007

    ncvet007 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Thanks. I'll look into that option.
     
  9. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,966
    First Name:
    Jay
    Might want a KVM with Audio
    The monitors must be switched on/connected before bootup
    My setup is kinda weird and can be confusing ... KVMs can run in series :D
     
  10. cornemuse

    cornemuse

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Messages:
    196
    I have a 4 port KVM with a 2 port KVM plugged in to the 4 port unit, all connected via vga plugs, (to a 4-3 monitor) and the various comps plugged into other monitors (<-16-9) via hdmi. In video software, (edit: meant to say graphics card s/w), it shows 2 monitors connected. I select the 16-9 monitor as the one to use. The vga monitor goes to sleep mode.
    Actually, one comp uses the vga (4-3) monitor, this comp as a matter of fact! for online. I prefer 4-3 mon for online, its a 21.5" EIZO mon, as tall as my 27" Samsung 16-9 (S27D360) next to it. (<-just not as wide) I have the 2 way kvm 'cause I switch back'n'forth between 2 diff comps/mons a lot and allus one button to switch. (obviously, have to select the port on 4 way 1st to use 2 way)

    Its all color coded, "white-red-yellow-blue", 2 way plugged into 'red' & then 1 button switching. Colored stickers on each comp.

    Sounds 'Rube Goldbergian', but works quite well.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1220309

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice