2 OS same partition - Access settings on one from the other?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Scilly

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
7
:eek: Have I made things worse? Bad display settings blinded me, loaded OS next to original to change settings, but how?

Have I made things worse?

My (mis) settings on the original operating systems blinded me when I messed with the RADEON MOBILITY Multi-Monitor. How do I see the light again?

I loaded XP Pro again, so I have two copies of the same OS beside one another - NTFS, no partition. What is the fastest way to get to the other OS to change the settings? Can I retrieve my files and applications so I can back them up and reformat the HDD and start fresh?


Notes on original problem:

ATI MOBILITY RADEON X600 issue?
Dell Latitude D810 DVD viewing on Sony LCD TV via S-VHS cable
Laptop display no longer works once Windows XP Professional is loaded

I hooked my Dell Latitude D810 to the monitor to my Sony TV via S-VHS cable.

I watched a DVD from the laptop drive on my laptop monitor and the TV monitor full screen (they were not split screen images).

It worked great until I decided to try and “fine tune” the image dimensions on the TV.

CONTROL PANEL > DISPLAY > SETTINGS > SCREEN RESOLUTION & DISPLAY

I was playing with 1 and 2 boxes in the window DRAG THE MONITOR ICONS TO MATCH THE PHYSICAL ARRANGEMENT OF YOUR MONITOR.

I am not sure in what order the events unfolded, but the TV monitor suddenly showed only the wallpaper image on screen, but the laptop still had desktop items and task bar on with the wallpaper image.

In the DISPLAY field in SETTINGS, I was scrolling between 1. (Multiple Monitors) on ATI…
and
2. (Multiple Monitors) on ATI…

I may have messed up with the settings in the ADVANCED tab too.

My laptop display no longer works once I am in Windows XP Professional.

F8 and F12 allowed me to run diagnostics (all passed) and a safe mode start that also loses the display once XP Pro is loaded.

Once XP Pro is loaded, I can hear the laptop accepting my password entry with its cute little “beep”

It sounds like a pop-up block shortly thereafter – not sure that is relevant.

Once, I successfully used the mouse pad to right click in the far lower left of the screen, apparently opening the START menu and SHUT DOWN, otherwise, it was the unplug or remove the battery method.

Dell Tech Support walked me through booting my system from the Microsoft XP Professional Installation Disc, but it failed to reactivate my screen.

I have tried enabling anything to do with video cards, or lack of, from F8, but to no avail.

When I increase and decrease the brightness, I can see the screen glow ebb and flow.

Dell Tech Support suggests I go to Best Buy to have them back up my hard drive, and then erase the hard disc (“something may be corrupted”).

I am not sure that will solve the problem.

I attached my laptop to another laptop with the S-VHS cable, and it split the display on the other laptop, but mine stayed black.

I attached my laptop to 2 other monitors, and another TV, and I got nothing!

I have recently added some extremely important files for work that have not been completely backed up, and would like to feel secure about their continued existence while I play the less-than-omniscient God of the keyboard and mouse pad.

I would love to understand what happened, and get it fixed ASAP.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2007
Messages
1,102
Just try one simple thing

Pull out the laptop battery
Disconnect all the peripherals (printer / monitor/ mouse ...)

Hold down the start button for 20 Seconds

Put the battery back in

Turn on

reply back
 

Scilly

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
7
It gives me the choice of loading:

Microsoft XP Professional - 2nd version that has no files or applications

Microsoft XP Professional - 1st version that has no display

If I erase the 2nd version, might it work?
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2007
Messages
1,102
No I don't think so.

I'd keep the 2nd version because at least you can see the display

This is a tricky one - with two installs of Xp and errors.

Your best (really I'd do this) option is to locate all your data on your harddrive and backup to CD / or flash Drive.
Then put the Xp CD back in and Format first (quick format) - Warning all files will be lost
And re-install Windows fresh
 

Scilly

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
7
Having trouble finding the data. Most files I backed up, but not some of the latest very important ones. Where do I find them? The most I have been able to locate on my drive was shortcuts to all of my applications. Are the files hidden from me because I am in a different system/different administrator? BTW, thank you sooo much.
 

Scilly

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
7
Started with pictures, but I am only finding icons, stock images, etc.

If I am searching while I am in one OS, will I be able to find any pictures, docs, etc. anywhere on the hard drive - even if I refine the search and specify all hidden files too?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top