2 RAM sticks: One or the other but not both

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

BritishMalayan

Thread Starter
Joined
May 8, 2006
Messages
77
Need help here. I now have two sticks of PC3200 (400MHz) 512MB DDR from Apacer - problem is they don't seem to work well together when playing games - 10 minutes max before a BSOD (other tasks don't seem to cause this). If I take out one (doesn't matter which), the problem does not occur. I've tried disabling and enabling bank interleave to no effect. The two sticks are not identical, but I thought identical is only necessary if one wants to enable bank interleave i.e. dual channel operation. The BSOD during games occur even with Bank interleave disabled.

Can anyone help?

Many thanks
 
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
467
Seems like your computer supports dual-channel memory configurations, you should install in identical pairs (preferably in kits) for optimal performance.
 

BritishMalayan

Thread Starter
Joined
May 8, 2006
Messages
77
Hello smbd,

thanks for your response.

Obviously I don't want to doa way with my existing sticks (and money is an issue too! ;) ) . Are there any workarounds?
 

BritishMalayan

Thread Starter
Joined
May 8, 2006
Messages
77
Append: It seems that launching my TV tuner to watch TV also results in a BSOD if both sticks are used. Removing either returns operation to normal.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2006
Messages
550
Memory test time...

Go here http://www.memtest.org/ and follow the download instructions.

Test one stick at the time. It may take even hours for testing to complete.

However, the issue that they're NOT identical may also be the primary issue...
 

BritishMalayan

Thread Starter
Joined
May 8, 2006
Messages
77
idowindows said:
However, the issue that they're NOT identical may also be the primary issue...
I thought it would be an issue only if one wants to operate in dual channel mode...in any case it should not result in a BSOD, right? :confused:
 

BritishMalayan

Thread Starter
Joined
May 8, 2006
Messages
77
A thought just struck me. I have two HDDs, each having a cooling fan attached, two side 12'' cooling fans, a TV card and a PCI sound card. Could it be that the addition of another RAM stick trigger this BSOD, in that it causes insufficient power to the rest of the system? My PSU delivers 420W
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top