1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

2 Router Setup - Cannot access second router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by dantheman9856, Jul 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dantheman9856

    dantheman9856 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    I have a two router setup, both are linksys and one is wireless. The wireless router is the secondary router or the gateway. Is there anyway I can access it? I can only access the primary one as of now.
     
  2. datamonger

    datamonger

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    244
    How do you have the two connected? LAN port to LAN port, LAN port to WAN port, etc?
     
  3. dantheman9856

    dantheman9856 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    They work, I have internet on all computers. The connection is from a normal port you use for the internet. A numbered port. I do not know which it is.
     
  4. datamonger

    datamonger

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    244
    What are the model number of the routers and which one is actually connected to the Internet?
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    If you'd tell us how you connected them, and how you configured them, it would help.
     
  6. dantheman9856

    dantheman9856 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    The wireless router is configured as a gateway, and the wired router functions as a router...what isnt to get? Every computer has internet. I just want to access the gateway router thats all.
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Since you seem to know all you need to know, why ask us? :confused:
     
  8. dantheman9856

    dantheman9856 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Because I do not know how to access the wireless router in a browser. My original question.
     
  9. datamonger

    datamonger

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    244
    Danthemman,

    So your hookup looks like this:

    Internet - Wireless Router - Router.

    Do your pc's connect only to the wireless router or do you just have the wireless nodes connect to the wireless router and the rest connect to the non-wireless router.

    Understand that there are many ways that you can connect things and they will still work. In order for us to give you any kind of useable information we need information as well.

    You should always be able to access each router from it's LAN interface(s). With a PC connected to one of these interfaces, go to a command prompt, type the command ipconfig /all and take note of the default gateway. This will be the address for your router (whichever you are connected to at the time).

    There should be separate networks behind each router. If they are both using the same network addresses, ie. 192.168.0.x, then one will need to be changed since having the same network will be extremely complicated.

    I can go on and on with things to try but until we get some additional info about your configuration we will be shooting in the dark.
     
  10. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    You gotta tell us how each router is configured. You also have to tell us how each device is connected to each other.
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,353
    First Name:
    Terry
    "Because I do not know how to access the wireless router in a browser."

    On a computer that is connected to the wireless router and has an IP address that is in the same subnet as the wireless router's LAN address, type the wireless router's LAN address into the address bar of a browser. Since you do not want to share your connection or configuration information, I think that is as specific as anybody can be.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/487290

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice