2 Routers on 1 Network

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bowmar

Thread Starter
Joined
May 30, 2003
Messages
625
I am helping with a small network, maybe 10-12 computers, in very large building.
We have a bt business hub, which has DHCP Enabled (although most computers have manual IP Addresses).
Bt Router is 192.168.1.254 with standard subnet.

We have a 2nd TP-Link router setup but no DHCP on it, assigned 192.168.1.1 to Router. Gateway and DNS set to 192.168.1.254

Scope of Network on both Routers is identical 192.168.1.1 - 192.168.1.255

This is due to building size, with TP-Link Router acting as repeater (No Internet setup on Router as this is through BT Router).

The PC's nearest TP-Link identify and connect through TP-Link Router, and most work okay, but 1-2 drop off and can't find Internet Etc (PC's are mix of Win XP & Win 7)

Can i force PC's to look at BT Router rather than TP-Link (Just need TP-Link to be a Wireless Repeater).

Thanks In Advance
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,429
Can i force PC's to look at BT Router rather than TP-Link (Just need TP-Link to be a Wireless Repeater).
I learned a day or two ago from another member that a Repeater can use a different SSID. So, just use a different SSID and allow each computer to connect only to the desired SSID.
 

bowmar

Thread Starter
Joined
May 30, 2003
Messages
625
Hi TerryNet,
Understand that part.
Main Problem is win 7 Computers that are hard wired want to go through the 2nd Router rather than BT Router.
Seems to be where the conflict is !!!
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,429
The TP-Link router is being used both as Repeater and wireless bridge? In your first post you said, "Just need TP-Link to be a Wireless Repeater."

Computers connected to it via wireless don't lose connection, but ethernet connected ones do?

Main Problem is win 7 Computers that are hard wired want to go through the 2nd Router rather than BT Router.
To which router are they physically connected? What do you mean by "want to go through"?
 

bowmar

Thread Starter
Joined
May 30, 2003
Messages
625
Sorry TerryNet !

Network is in Large Building - At the Front of Building Sits the BT Router which is connected to Internet.

At the far end of Building is the TP-Link Router with no Internet Connection. This has ethernet cable Connected to main network and BT Router. This TP-Link Router has iPad Connecting wirelessly to Network, Internet & Printers (Too far away to see BT Router).

In between these routers are 10 computers connected by ethernet cables.

The Windows 7 Computers Identify Network and show Computer - TP-Link - Internet on Network map.

Is there any way to Force them to See Computer - BT Router - Internet.

Reason for this is the ones that Identify Router as TP-Link sometimes lose Internet

Hope that makes more sense
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,429
Are you talking about the Network Map in the Network and Sharing Center? It's nice eye-candy and sometimes makes sense, but I don't know of any real value to it.
 

bowmar

Thread Starter
Joined
May 30, 2003
Messages
625
Yes thats what it is, and I understand what your saying.

But it seems to be only the Computers that show the Router as TP-Link that have an issue all others are okay.

Worked on a few networks over the years but not any with two routers connected.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,429
Exactly how is the 2nd router connected (since you said "repeater" I assume by wireless) to the first one? What significant configuration settings on it?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top