1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

2 simple RAM and USB questions

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ultimax, Sep 14, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ultimax

ultimax Thread Starter

Hi guys,

I've got 2 simple questions:

1. My gf's got a P3-450 with 64mb of RAM (in 1 slot, with 2 remaining empty ones). I'd like to bump that up to maybe 256mb, or even 300mb. Basically, as much as her system and my pocket can support.

What kind of RAM should I get? There's all sorts now, and I'm confused. I used to be a tech geek in 1994-95, when EDO RAM was king, but I'm completely lost now.

Also, do P3-450s have a cap to the maximum amount of RAM the system can support?

2. A friend gave me a USB hub (I plug it into 1 USB port and I get 4). I'm pretty sure it's USB 1.1 or whatever because he bought it 2 years ago. I'm using USB 2.0. WIll it transfer at 2.0 or 1.1 speeds?

thanks a mil!

2. Deathblow

Deathblow

The ram type you will need will depend on the motherboard. You need to find out what type it supports.

As for the USB, if it's a 1.1, it will run at 1.1 speeds.

3. ultimax

ultimax Thread Starter

Hi,

how do I do this? Is there software which I can download which will give me this information?

thanks

4. kiwiguy

kiwiguy

Try Belarc Adviser. Google will find it for you.

As to the maximum that the motherboard will support, its often BIOS dependent. "Brand names" are sometimes more resricted (due to OEM versions of BIOS).

5. JohnWill

JohnWill Retired Moderator

6. ultimax

ultimax Thread Starter

Hi guys,

Everest Home reports that I have 64mb of RAM in 1 row (Computer -> Moterhboard -> SPD), 4 banks. Does that mean I have 3 empty slots?