1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

2 towers, 1 monitor?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by caddiegirl, Sep 17, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. caddiegirl

    caddiegirl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Hi! I'm wondering if it's possible to connect two towers to one monitor. If so, how? I have a serious memory issue with my computer (less than 1% available) and want to use a tower that was recently replaced for my daughter to put some programs on that I use, but that take up lots of memory. Can someone walk me through how to do that? Thanks!
     
  2. stantley

    stantley

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    7,059
    You can do that with a KVM switch, but they can be a little expensive. A cheaper and simpler approach might be to get an external hard drive.

    When you say "I have a serious memory issue with my computer (less than 1% available)" do you mean that your hard drive is running out of space? If so, there might some files you can delete to make more room.

    What's the make and model of your computer and how big is the hard drive?
     
  3. caddiegirl

    caddiegirl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Thank you for your help... I have an external hard drive. The problem is, for example, I have a Quickbooks program, but when I transfer it to the external hard drive, only the backup files go, not the program. So, if I were to delete the program from my computer, and then try to use the program just when the external hard drive is plugged in, it won't work and I will lose data.

    This is the same problem I am having with both of the other large programs I operate on a daily basis... one for business and the other one is ITunes. I have found that I can store my music on the EHD, but when I try to transfer them back to my computer iTunes, some of the purchased and some of the downloaded music does not transfer back.

    We purchased the original computer in early 2002. I tried to run disk defrag and got an error message telling me that there is not enough disk space to run the program, but that I should defrag the amount... can you say double-edged sword?

    I can't afford to purchase a new computer at the moment. Are you saying that I couldn't attach the 2nd tower to the router I have or via USB to the original tower and switch back and forth using the same monitor?

    I'm so not a tech-minded girl and I appreciate your help lots!

    Thanks again!
     
  4. caddiegirl

    caddiegirl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    forgot to tell you that I have deleted the files I thought I could do without and also transferred some to the EHD.

    Do you know if I can delete earlier versions of adobe acrobat once I have upgraded to the 9.11 version? That might help, but I still don't think it's going to do enough to make a huge difference.

    I'm worried that I might have something else going on, although, I admit that most of the memory problems started when i got my new Ipod for my birthday. I have now uploaded my entire CD Library to my computer into Itunes - over 1000 cd's. There has to be a better way to store my music than to have it use up my hard drive, right? I'm just worried that if I delete it after I put it on the EHD I won't be able to get all of it back again. suggestions?

    Thanks again!
     
  5. stantley

    stantley

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    7,059
    What's the make and model of your computer and how big is the hard drive?

    How big is the external drive and how much free space is left.
     
  6. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    You can't run a program like Quickbooks from an external hard drive. It is licensed and has to be installed on a computer. It isn't a portable application.

    Try these instructions at Apple's support site for moving the location of your iTunes library.
    iTunes for Windows: Moving your iTunes Music Folder
     
  7. replay

    replay

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    4,447
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/861674