2 window 2000 pro OS on one computer

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

kluftern2

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 19, 2004
Messages
101
Some how I have 2 WIN 2000 Pro on my computer. One works and the other doesnt, so how do delete the one that doesnt work?
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2005
Messages
21
What do you mean "somehow"?

It depends how they're installed I guess. I mean, if they're on seperate partitions, then you could run the Windows 2000 installation, just to the part where you get to remove a partition, then reboot.

Even if they're not on seperate partitions, the Windows setup could probably be smart enough to say "dude! there are two!" and let you remove one from a list. You could then reboot.

Maybe you could just delete whatever directory the other Windows is installed to, absolutely don't recommend that way though, given all the registry entries and whatever else is involved.

I am goin' off possibilities, simply because I've never installed two instances of Windows on a single computer. Least if I did, it would be on seperate partitions.

Anyhow, those methods may work. Stick in the Windows disc, see what it says ... just don't go installing a third time!

Good luck to ya!
 

kluftern2

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 19, 2004
Messages
101
how do edit my boot.ini file and there is no other partition with windows 2000 but its somehow still there!!!!
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2001
Messages
2,070
Click Start
Click Run
Type boot.ini

This should bring up your boot.ini file. Be very careful with this!!!

There should be two lines of syntax in there. Depending on which one works when you boot your machine, that will determines whether line 1 or line 2 gets deleted. If you delete the wrong one, your computer may not boot.
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2005
Messages
21
This person still has two instances of Windows installed though, right?

Maybe I missed somethin' ... I don't know.
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2001
Messages
2,070
He probably only has one installation, but sometimes when you reinstall Windows, your boot.ini will think you have more than one installation on your hard drive. All he needs to do is delete one of those lines and he won't get the boot menu anymore.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top