1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

2K Server - Backup to USB pens?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by jakoval, May 20, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jakoval

jakoval Thread Starter

I am what passes for IT dept.(mostly self-taught) for a small company. Our server is an older Netfinity with RAID5 array, running Windows 2000 Server. I know it's old but serves our needs fine. Backup regime (using NTbackup) has been as follows: daily (M-F) backups to hard drive plus second daily (M-F) to 4mm DAT, as well as separate weekly backups to external USB hard drive and to a NAS device. Currently backing up a little less than 3GB in each daily.

Lately the tape backups have been giving me a lot of grief: media not found, read failures on verify, bad blocks detected... Have replaced both drive and tapes - currently on second (used) drive and third (all new) set of tapes in the last 6 months. Was thinking of switching over to using USB pen drives in place of the tapes (I can get a good deal on a bunch of 8GB Kingston DataTraveler100's)

Just wondering, first of all, if anyone has experience/opinion with regard to this kind of backup, particularly as compared to tape backups.

Secondly, if I do go this route, I'm seeing that pen drives show up as removable storage, as compared to the 300GB IOGear external that shows up as a local drive. Should I be preparing the pens with RSM as I would with tapes, or treating it as a HD based backup?

Thanks in advance for any replies.

2. loserOlimbs

loserOlimbs

What would be your recovery method? New install of the OS and then retieve the DATA.

With all the things you are backing up to, multiple drives and media, have you looked into external storage?

3. jakoval

jakoval Thread Starter