1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

2nd laptop won't connect to wireless router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by netgearboy, Jul 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. netgearboy

    netgearboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    hi,

    I'd like both of my laptops to be able to connect to my wireless router so they can both be onlne. The laptop which does connect to the router has a USB adapter plugged into it which receives the signal just fine. My second laptop won't connect to this wireless network and it has an internal 'Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network Connection' adapter.

    Is there anything i can do to fix this? Perhaps i need to change some settings on the router or perhaps change some settings on the second laptop? I have windows XP home and the network has WPA2 AES encryption. Thanks for your help!
     
  2. invalidusername

    invalidusername

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    639
    Get closer to the router and try it. If it works then it is signal levle issue.

    Make sure in that laptop "obtain IP address automatically" and "obtain DNS automatically" are selected.

    You find that under property of your wireless card where it says TCP/IP
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    What are the exact symptoms? Do you see the wireless network when you search for available networks? Also, let's see this:

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  4. netgearboy

    netgearboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    hey,

    the laptop is only a metre away from the wireless router. I've checked and those two options are checked... must be something else. It just won't connect and the wireless symbol in the taskbar doesn't have that yellow dot that moves as it normally would if its trying to connect. I can see the wireless network i want to connect to when i click on search for avaliable wireless networks...

    John Will, here is the information you asked for (i apologise for the chinese, the laptop is set to chinese i don't know how to change it to english):

    Microsoft Windows XP [版本 5.1.2600]
    (C) 版权所有 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Rennet>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : wenjing-849a122
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter 本地连接:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Cont
    roller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-15-C5-69-99-11

    Ethernet adapter 无线网络连接:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network
    Connection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-6F-A7-A5-73

    C:\Documents and Settings\Rennet>

    Thanks!
     
  5. netgearboy

    netgearboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    anyone have any ideas?
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    First step would be to disable encryption on the router and see if you can connect then. Are you sure that the laptop in question supports WPA2? Have you tried the latest drivers from the laptop manufacturer?

    If disabling encryption still doesn't get it connected, can you connect with a cable? If not, try this:

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2.

    For these commands, Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,617
    First Name:
    Terry
    Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200BG does not support WPA2 unless Intel has come out with a new version of it.
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Terry, I suspected that.

    I suggest going back to WPA for the router and trying to get that working, that is a supported encryption level.
     
  9. netgearboy

    netgearboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    I did those two reset things that you said i should try John Will. Then i disabled all encryption on the network. I tried to connect the laptop, but after a few seconds it just says 'not connected', and there's no sign in the task bar of it trying to connect. Here is another ipconfig/all taken just after trying all that, incase its useful. I'm not an expert but it looks better than the first ipconfig/all i took.

    Microsoft Windows XP [版本 5.1.2600]
    (C) 版权所有 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Rennet>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : wenjing-849a122
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter 无线网络连接:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network
    Connection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-6F-A7-A5-73
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.3
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 2007年7月3日 2:49:07
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 2007年7月4日 2:47:33

    C:\Documents and Settings\Rennet>
     
  10. invalidusername

    invalidusername

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    639
    "I did those two reset things that you said i should try John Will. "

    Did you reboot laptop after that?

    things look ok, see if you can connect. If not,


    Start-run, type CMD click ok

    type

    PING 192.168.1.1

    do you get anything?
     
  11. netgearboy

    netgearboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    its working now, 2nd laptop is connected. It worked after i set the encryption to WPA on the router. Thanks for the help guys. The intel adapter does in fact not support WPA2.

    I have just one last question. Is it normal for the speed on the 2nd laptop to be like 1/5th the speed of the 1st laptop? I did a speedtest on both and the 2nd laptop is alot slower. Maybe its because this laptop has a better adapter (its a WPN111 USB adapter).... thanks!
     
  12. invalidusername

    invalidusername

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    639
    Try them at exact same location see what happens
     
  13. netgearboy

    netgearboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    at the exact same location the second laptop is alot slower, like 1/6 of the speed... maybe the tcp/ip settings aren't optimal on the 2nd laptop? Like RWIN...
     
  14. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,617
    First Name:
    Terry
    Before doing anything else check the web site of your laptop's manufacturer for the latest driver for the Intel adapter. My experience with that adapter is that it works fine with the right driver--but Intel has had a lot of problems with drivers. Also, for most (but not all) people it works better with the Intel utility than it does with Windows' WZC.
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/590914

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice