1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

2nd monitor goes blank

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by lowellc, May 19, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lowellc

    lowellc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    About a week ago my second monitor started going blank after the computer has been on for 20-30 minutes. It has worked correctly for over a year. It's like a black screensaver has started. The monitor still has a green light (on). The only way I can get the image back is by turning the monitor off and on again (or a reboot.)

    I've already checked screensavers (none) and made sure that the disk drives and monitor controls are set to "never turn off." I've turned off a program that allows an image to span both monitors. None of this seems to make a difference. My main monitor keeps working. I "think" the only program I've added is an update to the anti-virus program AVG-8, but I'm not sure this occurred at the same time.

    Dell XPS400
    Windows XP Pro, Service Pack 2
    2 Gigs Ram
    Lots of Hard Drive Space
     
  2. aarhus2004

    aarhus2004 Gone but always remembered

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,049
    Hello lowellc,

    Welcome to TSG.

    I am not likely to be of help here - but I am curious. Your 'second' monitor? Why two?

    I ask because I am, looking at using my CRT monitor with a Notebook I have acquired. This is my 'two monitors'. And several questions arise in me about having two. I have solved the first by learning I can toggle off the laptop monitor and use the CRT one.

    Now it occurs to me to wonder about Power Options settings - those in the laptop.

    Assuming your Dell is a PC. It feeds both monitors. What makes one monitor your 'main' one? Presumably the connection? A D Sub for the main and for the other?

    What happens if you 'reverse' the monitors?

    Ben. :confused:
     
  3. lowellc

    lowellc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Hi Ben,

    I find two monitors much more efficient for working. During the day I often have six or seven programs running (and actually being used), and it is easier to compare information if I don't have to keep using Alt-Tab or the mouse. I can actually have three monitors on this Dell machine, but I found that overkill. However when I have to limit myself to only one I feel "deprived."

    I tried making the second monitor the main monitor (without a reboot), and the monitor remained blank. It shouldn't be the connection, since both monitors work correctly until #2 decides to go to sleep. Then turning it off and back on brings back that screen for about 20 minutes. The fact that I am working on the computer at the time seems to make no difference.

    Lowell
     
  4. aarhus2004

    aarhus2004 Gone but always remembered

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,049
    I understand deprivation, Lowell, ageing is all about it.

    It is interesting to learn of what you are doing with two and what you have tried with them.

    so when it does decide to do that its mate also follows suit. Ummm...

    Will the #2, when promoted to #1, and a reboot done, show normally. i.e.both monitors are on?

    If so how do you know which monitor is first to go - is there a gap in time? Does your Dell have two identical connections and therefore each monitor is separate from the other with its own wire and connection point? When you switch them do you switch cables at the computer or at the monitors?

    It's a riddle - yes? Have you tried switching cables? When one monitor goes blank what is the effect of reversing the connectors at the computer end? (sans reboot).

    Just confused thoughts, Lowell. Nothing techy to back them up!

    Cheers,

    Ben.
     
  5. lowellc

    lowellc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    >If so how do you know which monitor is first to go - is there a gap in time? Does your Dell have two identical connections and therefore each monitor is separate from the other with its own wire and connection point?

    Both monitors do NOT go blank. Only the 2nd one. The way I have things set up it's a pain to get to the wiring. If no one has a software solution in the next few days I'll probably try switching things around next weekend.

    Lowell
     
  6. aarhus2004

    aarhus2004 Gone but always remembered

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,049
    Hello Lowell.

    When the wireless word first came up in computing my eyes became wide. I hate wires. I have a rats nest of 'em myself.

    Yes keep on eye out for a software solution. The forum is more active daytime USA.

    Best wishes.

    Ben.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/713671