3 computer LAN Setup Vista,XP Pro Problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

CaesarTheHun

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 21, 2007
Messages
11
Hi Guys,

I would like to set up my computers in Home network. But it plays tricks on me and can not solve it by myself. I need smarter guys then I am. :)
Situation: IP s are set to static :
Router : Linksys WRT-54G

Local IP : 192.168.1.101
Model : Sony VGC-RB40 wired desktop
OS : Windwos XP Pro SP2

Local IP : 192.168.1.102
Model : Toshiba Satellite Pro 6100 wired laptop
OS : Windwos XP Pro SP2

Local IP : 192.168.1.103
Model : HP dv1000 wireless laptop
OS : Windwos Vista Ultimate

I use the same Agnitum Outpost Firewall as a part of the security suit on all three of them and NOD32 antivirus system.


Let's see. I set up a Workgorup what called CAESAR HOME with multiple problems.
192.168.1.101 should be the main computer with the USB hooked printers scanners and so on. All there computer has shared folders.

From 192.168.1.101 Sony wired desktop XP Pro SP2

My Network places-> View Workgroup Computers -> Caesar Home -> Sony
When I check the workgroup computers ..... I have no icon at all for 192.168.1.101 ...but from there I can see the ....102 , 103 and I have access to them as well.
- I have full access to Toshiba ..1.102. I can do every kind of folder action I want like copy, rename, move and so on back and forth between these computers. This would be the normal behavior I wish.:)
- I have restricted access to HP ....1.103. I can get in the folder rename, move from but I'm not able to put file back to that folder... Got and error message :
Error Copying File of Folder Cannot copy File_name : Access is denied. Make sure the disk is not full or write-protected and that the file is not currently in use.

From 192.168.1.102 Toshiba wired laptop XP Pro SP2

My Network places-> View Workgroup Computers -> Caesar Home -> Toshiba
I can see the Toshiba icon and the HP .... no SONY!!!! -> No access
Same situation just like the above described...Whatever I want to do ....no rename,no any file of folder action. Same error mesage :
Error Copying File of Folder Cannot copy File_name : Access is denied. Make sure the disk is not full or write-protected and that the file is not currently in use.

From 192.168.1.103 HP Wiereless Laptop Vista Ultimate

My Network places-> View Workgroup Computers -> Caesar Home -> Sony
Pretty much the same. No Sony icon visible between workgroup computers. and so on

I've been serching for anykind of solution for days with no success. If anyone have any idea...please let me know.
Thanks
Caesar
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Turn off any firewalls for debugging. If the firewall is the problem, you'll have to configure it to allow access to "trusted zone" addresses. Note that some firewalls must be completely uninstalled to stop them from affecting your networking.

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt for the following commands.

PING each remote computer by IP address, and if successful, PING by name. Open a command prompt as described above and type.

PING <ip address>
or
PING <computer name>

Where:
<ip address> - is the x.x.x.x IP address
<computer name> - is the computer name

A failure to PING is almost always a firewall configuration issue. Any failure to PING needs to be corrected before you go any farther.

Note: You can obtain the IP address and computer name of a computer by opening a command prompt (DOS window) and typing IPCONFIG /ALL. This should work for any Windows version. The IPCONFIG /ALL display will provide a wealth of useful information for debugging your network connection.

Check your Services are Started on all PCs:
  • Computer Browser
  • DHCP Client
  • DNS Client
  • Network Location Awareness
  • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
  • Server
  • TCP/IP Netbios helper
  • Workstation

Note: You can check the services in Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services.

All of these services should be started, and their startup type should be automatic.

All computers should be in the same workgroup for computer browsing to function properly. File & Print Sharing has to be enabled on any computer you wish to share files or printers from. You also need to actually share the resource in question from My Computer, right click on the drive/printer/folder, and select sharing.

If you encounter difficulties accessing computers that are visible in Network Neighborhood, make sure the computer being accessed has an account with the same name/password as the system connecting to it uses to login.

While the default NetBIOS setting is correct for normal network configurations, it's possible for it to be altered, and it costs nothing to make sure it's correct. NETBIOS over TCP/IP must be enabled for normal network browsing.
 

CaesarTheHun

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 21, 2007
Messages
11
Hi John Will,
I congifured my firewall as you mentioned.
I made the pings with 100 % success from all three direction. 0% loss, average = 0-1ms
Back and forth by and by ip address as well.
I checked my all services were listed above on all Pcs:
* Computer Browser
* DHCP Client
* DNS Client
* Network Location Awareness
* Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
* Server
* TCP/IP Netbios helper
* Workstation
They all started at the type is automatic now.

All computers are on the same network ..... but sony has still not any icon SONY is still invisible in workgroup.
File and print sharing is enabled
BIOS over TCP/IP is enabled on all three of them

BUT I dont know how to do these :
"You also need to actually share the resource in question from My Computer, right click on the drive/printer/folder, and select sharing.

If you encounter difficulties accessing computers that are visible in Network Neighborhood, make sure the computer being accessed has an account with the same name/password as the system connecting to it uses to login."

Thanks
Caesar
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
On the Sony, please do this:

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

Type the following two commands:

nbtstat -n

ipconfig /all

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
 

CaesarTheHun

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 21, 2007
Messages
11
Here we go!

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Admin>nbtstat -n

Local Area Connection:
Node IpAddress: [192.168.1.101] Scope Id: []

NetBIOS Local Name Table

Name Type Status
---------------------------------------------
SONY <00> UNIQUE Registered
CAESAR HOME <00> GROUP Registered
SONY <20> UNIQUE Registered
CAESAR HOME <1E> GROUP Registered

C:\Documents and Settings\Admin>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : SONY
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connecti
on
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-20-45-25-D5
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.101
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

C:\Documents and Settings\Admin>
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
What happens if you open Network Places on the Sony? Can you see it's name there? Do you see the other computer names there?
 

CaesarTheHun

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 21, 2007
Messages
11
I'm at the Sony now. 192.168.1.101

My Network Places-> Click on View Workgroup computers-> NO SONY icon!!!!!!

I can see both computer the Toshiba and the HP as well.
I can access both of them Fully. It means I can do what ever I want in the shared folders.Move ,delete, rename, copy and so on.
I can move the files to Sony and back as well.. regardless I have no sony icon on workgroup computers.
 

CaesarTheHun

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 21, 2007
Messages
11
Any one with any idea what causes this mystery?
Any help would be highly appreciated
Thanks
Caesar
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

No members online now.
Top