1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

3 different IP's

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Cora, Sep 14, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Cora

    Cora Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    91
    When I click on LAN properties for my DSL I get an IP.

    Which is different than when I send mail with my Yahoo account and the e-mail shows the source. It doesn't matter whether I use dial up or DSL.

    I also get a different IP address when I go on my website and it logs the IP.

    So I have 3 different IP's and thought I had one. Which one is actually considered my IP, all three?

    I have an IP # from Norton from a hacker attempt. I think it might be an ex-boyfriend. The IP doesn't match but apparently there are different IP numbers. Now I am all confused and would like to figure it out. All I have is a Yahoo IP which I don't think is the same.....
     
  2. BillC

    BillC

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    2,366
    Open a Dos command window and type in "ipconfig/all" without the quotes. It will tell you your IP.

    If you don't know how then click on Start > Run and type "command" again without quotes in the small window that opens then click ok. You should see a black DoS window open. Now just type "ipconfig/all' hit enter and presto, you have your address.
     
  3. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    Of course if you check it again tomorrow - it could well have changed;)
     
  4. Cora

    Cora Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    91
    So the IP in Yahoo or what's logged on my website is not my IP, so would not be his either. My IP # is shown in the LAN properties.

    The hacker attempt is IP 4.33.3.215 according to Norton. This doesn't look like an IP address to me. And if it were could I find out more than just the general location, dial-up, cable or DSL. I know a lot of people with Internet in Tampa Bay! Any way I could find out more?
     
  5. Miz

    Miz

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    2,146
    If you're only getting one "hacker attempt" alert from your firewall, you're in great shape. Before I got a router, my software firewall was getting hammered constantly from all the port sniffers running out there.

    You can use any of the online DNS lookup tools (do a Google search for "DNS lookup tool") to identify that DNS.

    Even if you do track it down, there's not much anybody will, or can do. Probing around on the net for vulnerable computers isn't, as far as I know, illegal.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/164790

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice