1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

32 bit to 64 bit

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by jfrom, Feb 22, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jfrom

    jfrom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    I am currently running win 8 pro on a 32 bit system which claims to be 64 bit capable. How can I check that capability ? I have attempted to install win 8 pro 64 bit from an OEM CD but I get an error message that the CD cannor run on this machine. Where do I go from here ?

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 8 Pro with Media Center, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 860 @ 2.80GHz, x64 Family 6 Model 30 Stepping 5
    Processor Count: 8
    RAM: 3063 Mb
    Graphics Card: Microsoft Basic Render Driver, 11 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 228886 MB, Free - 181821 MB; E: Total - 99 MB, Free - 31 MB; F: Total - 476836 MB, Free - 428620 MB;
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC., P7P55D PRO
    Antivirus: Windows Defender, Disabled
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
  3. jfrom

    jfrom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    This does not address my basic problem. How can I get the 64 bit OEM disc to run on my 32 bit system. Do I have to remove the 32 bit OS first ?
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    yes, should be able to start over again and format the partition from the CD

    at what point do you get that message

    where did you get the OEM windows 8 CD ?
     
  5. jfrom

    jfrom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    what does "disabledom here" mean ?
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    dont know - will try and find out
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you haqve inserted the system info into the middle of your sentice

    ystem which claims to be 64 bit capable. How can I check that capability ? I have attempted to install win 8 pro 64 bit from an OEM CD but I get an error message that the CD cannor run on this machine. Where do I go frTech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 8 Pro with Media Center, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 860 @ 2.80GHz, x64 Family 6 Model 30 Stepping 5
    Processor Count: 8
    RAM: 3063 Mb
    Graphics Card: Microsoft Basic Render Driver, 11 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 228886 MB, Free - 181821 MB; E: Total - 99 MB, Free - 31 MB; F: Total - 476836 MB, Free - 428620 MB;
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC., P7P55D PRO
    Antivirus: Windows Defender, Disabledom here

    Where do I go fr om here

    i asked the question and one of our eagle eyed admin spotted
     
  8. bbearren

    bbearren

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,775
    If you're trying to boot an OEM Windows 8 Pro installation DVD (can't be a CD; capacity is too small) and it won't boot, my guess is that your hard drive is MBR. An OEM CD would be configured to boot EFI/GPT, since Microsoft has decreed that no OEM will receive the Windows 8 sticker unless Secure Boot is enabled by default (which means that a reinstall DVD would boot EFI).

    Secure Boot requires UEFI, and UEFI requires GPT. You will have to convert your MBR to GPT (which involves wiping out everything on it), create a small EFI system partition (100 - 120MB) and then a larger partition in order to install the OS.

    And I am also curious as to where you got an OEM Windows 8 Pro DVD. Your installation may yet fail unless you have a Product Key, as the Product Key for an OEM installation on a new PC is in ROM on the motherboard. There is no COA sticker, just the Windows 8 sticker. The Windows 8 Pro installation will likely ask for a Product Key, and won't install without it.
     
  9. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    113,324
    Just an FYI that I've edited the initial post to separate the original poster's text from the sysinfo report.
     
  10. dustyjay

    dustyjay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    First Name:
    Jay
    When you say you are trying to install from an OEM Disc, is this an Microsoft OEM Disc purchased separately, or an OEM Disc from another computer manufacturer?
     
  11. bbearren

    bbearren

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,775
    The disc from Microsoft is Retail, not OEM. The Windows 8 Pro Upgrade purchased from Microsoft is a Retail Upgrade. To my knowledge, there is no Retail Full Install for Windows 8. There is a System Builder Full install which is sold as OEM, not Retail. Once installed, it is married to the machine.
     
  12. dustyjay

    dustyjay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    First Name:
    Jay
    I understand this, the question was aimed more at if it was an OS provided by a system manufacturer other than the manufacturer of the problem, it will not install.
     
  13. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,356
    and in addition unless you are going to increase ram
    It will not really get you any noticeable benefits, even if you could install it.

    Indeed as you have Windows 8 Pro with Media Centre, apart from more ram and therefore the ability to process larger amounts of information on a 64 bit OS, you may not gain an awful lot.

    I think, as has been said, we really need to know

    what exactly the information on the DVD is.

    As I thought that although Microsoft have now changed their licence conditions for Windows 8, to enable the private individual to use an OEM Licence, he may only do so on a computer he is building, or to install, as a second operating system.

    Whatever the situation there is one aspect that is certain
    AN OEM installation cannot be used to upgrade an existing OS and changing from 32 bit to 64 bit is an upgrade
     
  14. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    in post #4
    i asked
    where did you get the OEM windows 8 CD ?

    i think until we establish the source of the windows - we should now wait for a reply
     
  15. jfrom

    jfrom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    it was purchsed at OutletPc in Henderson , Nevada after consultation with their people. Now that I have opened the package, they claim no further responsibilty
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1090610

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice