1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

32-bit Vista Wireless Networking issue, DNS server trouble

Discussion in 'Networking' started by justin_ls, Feb 6, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. justin_ls

justin_ls Thread Starter

Hello. I'm having great difficulty accessing the internet on my HP notebook. Basically, I performed a windows update to the desktop computer to which the modem and router are connected, and ever since then, the laptop has stopped working. Actually, the desktop also had a small hangup, but Windows was able to repair and do something to the DNS... after which the desktop was back to normal. Please help with your expertise! I'm not technically challenged lol, but I'm not a wireless network expert either-

Okay, the HP laptop is running MS Vista, 32-bit operating system. It is able to connect to the router no prob, but the internet is another story.

I updated the firmware to the modem, flushed the dns in command prompt, and uninstalled and reinstalled with updated driver the network card. I also reset the router and resetup the WEP security - Both the desktop and another HP laptop are still able to access the net beautifully. What's wrong with mine!!?:eek:

In addition, I reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log
    and...
    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

loaded as attachements you will see the ipconfig /all settings on the laptop that won't access the internet and also the error screen i'm getting (these were saved as jpg's)

The second set of ipconfig /all settings (copy and pasted below) are those of the desktop that is working beautifully. Thanks for the HELP, ..much appreciated!!

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Moser-PC